发送明信片和邮件

作为一名插画师,我是在印刷时代的末期成长起来的. 在数字媒体时代,作为自由职业者的自我推销变得更快、更便宜且浪费更少。 标准促销现在包括电子邮件群发、社交媒体帖子、维护网站以及订阅 Directory 或 Ispot 等网站。 话虽如此,印刷材料也有推广的地方,但目标不那么直接,它不再是寻找工作的主要方式。 

我听说艺术总监谈论在实习生的帮助下度过他们的星期三或星期五,并将一周内积累的所有邮件散布在桌子上,然后进行检查,保存亮点,并丢弃其余部分。 想象一下,不难想象融入其中是多么容易,大多数明信片都有标准尺寸,并且可以开始看起来一样。 我试图将促销视为礼物、书籍或印刷品,有人希望将其作为艺术品保留。 我尝试制作一些我可以发送给艺术总监以及在会议和我的网站上出售的东西。 由于自我宣传中没有太多的印刷选项,发送一张标准的明信片开始感觉有点浪费,我的建议是,无论艺术家决定发送什么实体宣传片,他们都需要感觉有意义。 这些是我从其他艺术家和老师那里听到的一些创意策略,它们也超出了基本的明信片公式:

  • 如果您选择明信片,请制作一系列明信片并分组发送,或手工装订成书。 
  • 制作印刷品,无论是在比典型明信片更大的纸上印刷有吸引力的数字印刷品,还是丝网印刷、凸版印刷、Risograph 或任何感觉独特的东西,然后对它们进行签名和编号,以便艺术总监知道它们是真正独一无二的。 
  • 快速制作一系列原始图,这些图可以很小,想出一个简单的想法,然后一遍又一遍地绘制。 将它们作为独特的作品单独发送,或者作为个性化促销书或明信片的东西。 
  • 打印一本真正的书,这可以在家里的个人打印机上完成。 或者制作一本黑白图画杂志,使用施乐机器打印出来。 雄心勃勃,使用 Risograph 或丝网印刷,或使用 Magclowd 或 Blurb 等按需印刷网站。 
  • 考虑设计信封,网上有一些模板可以遵循 USPS 指南,表明您不得印刷艺术品,以免干扰其他重要信息。 您可以将这些自定义打印出来,也可以自己打印和组装。 

促销书籍

获得演出:印刷促销策略 | 艺术商业杂志

La Clave:Artrepreneur 的 CPO Steve Schlackman 拍摄的古巴照片。 查看本书的预览 的Blurb.

当我设计宣传书时,我有两种策略。 我将收集过去一年的精彩片段,12-24 张我最好的图片,并将它们放在一本杂志风格的书里,大约 8.5×11 英寸(遵循易于按需打印的模板。)或者我会来以城市中的位置图等主题为主题,这种广泛的东西将具有广泛的吸引力,并创造出一种新的作品,可以变成一本书。 我花时间在设计和布局上,通过我的设计朋友反馈。 我希望这些作品感觉像是严肃的作品集,甚至是叙事项目,而不仅仅是宣传片。 这使我可以在漫画、书籍和杂志大会以及在线上出售它们。 出售它们可以帮助我抵消初始促销活动的成本,还有助于为我的作品建立粉丝群,而不仅仅是客户。 这些书的生命周期需要比促销活动更长。

在进行促销活动时,要记住的重要一点是数字。 在之前的一篇文章中,我写了两种类型的联系人列表,一种是大型收集列表,另一种是更有针对性的梦想客户列表。 后者是我专注于印刷宣传片的地方。 我将在以后的文章中写关于预算的内容,但是带有印刷成本、邮资和信封的促销邮件很容易超过一千美元。 这是一项必要的业务费用,需要将其视为产生更多收入的一种方式,因此理想情况下,它可以收回成本,并且与容易忘记的电子邮件爆炸相比,它的赚钱能力要长得多,但它需要要有针对性和效率。 它应该发送给您知道想要接收它的艺术总监,它应该是吸引该客户的艺术(基于您过去与该客户的经验,以及您对客户委托的作品类型的市场调查)。 由于成本原因,您希望确定自己没有浪费精力,这意味着将其发送给更有限和特定的受众。 您在职业生涯中走得越远,这些就会成为您优先考虑回头客的促销活动。 晋升从一种吸引新客户的方式演变为对与您共事多年的人以及您想与之保持牢固关系的人表示赞赏。 

印刷材料资源:

这是各种材料的打印资源列表!

按需打印:

露露 https://www.lulu.com/

的Blurb http://www.blurb.com/

磁悬浮 http://www.magcloud.com/

数字版:

Issuu https://issuu.com/

磁力+  https://www.magplus.com/

卡片和印刷品:

新闻纸俱乐部 https://www.newspaperclub.com/

4超过4 http://www.4over4.com/

打印 https://www.psprint.com/

https://skink.ink/

隔夜打印 http://www.overnightprints.com/

避风港新闻 http://havenpress.com/

哞哞 https://www.moo.com/us/products/business-cards.html

点唱机 http://www.jukeboxprint.com/

VISTAPRINT https://www.vistaprint.com/

漫画和其他书籍的胶版印刷:

林科 http://lincoprinting.com/

民兵新闻 http://www.brooklyn.minutemanpress.com/

布伦纳印刷 http://www.brennerprinting.com/

亚太抵消 http://www.asiapacificoffset.com/

print-resources.tumblr.com

 

你为印刷品做什么? 在下方评论!

马修·罗塔
马修·罗塔

Matt Rota 毕业于马里兰艺术学院的普通美术课程和视觉艺术学院的 MFA 视觉论文课程,是一名插画家、作家和讲师。 在过去的 15 年里,他一直与印刷和在线客户合作,包括纽约时报、纽约客、企鹅图书、洛杉矶时报、华盛顿邮报、外交政策、新共和国、史密森尼、综艺、Buzzfeed 等. 他的插图主要关注全球政治、刑事司法、社会不平等、移民和贫困。 他的插画作品得到了包括 Communication Arts、Spectrum、3X3 Magazine 和 The Society of Illustrators 在内的多个行业组织的认可,在那里他获得了两枚银牌,其中一枚是因为他在纪录片 Silent Truth 中的工作,这是一部关于威胁威胁的纪录片。美国军队中对女性的暴力行为,另一个是与 ProPublica 合作绘制的关于火石轮胎和利比里亚种族灭绝的一系列绘画。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

Sending Postcards and Mailers

As an illustrator, I came of age on the tail end of the for-print era a time dominated by printed matter when promo consisted of postcards, promotional catalogs, brochures, and illustrators carried a physical portfolio to be dropped off with art directors for review. In the age of digital media, self-promotion as a freelancer has become much quicker, cheaper, and less wasteful. Standard promotion now includes email blasts, social media posts, maintaining a website, and subscribing to sites like the Directory, or the Ispot. That being said, there is a place for printed materials in promotion, but the goals are a little less immediate and it is no longer the primary way to look for work. 

I’ve heard art directors talk about taking their Wednesdays or Fridays with the help of an intern and spreading out all of the accumulated mailers from the week on a desk and going through, saving the highlights, and trashing the rest. Picturing that it’s not hard to imagine how easy it is to blend in, most postcards come in standard sizes and can start to look the same. I try to think of promo as a gift, a book, or a print someone would want to hold onto as an art object. I try to make something I can send to an art director as well as sell at conventions and off my website. With so many no print options available in self-promotion, sending a single standard postcard begins to feel a little wasteful, my suggestion is whatever physical promo an artist decides to send, they need to feel meaningful. These are some creative strategies I’ve heard from other artists and teachers that also goes beyond the basic postcard formula:

  • If you do opt for postcards, make a series of them and send as a grouping, or bind them by hand to make a book. 
  • Make prints, either attractive digital prints on larger paper than a typical postcard, or screenprints, letterpress, Risograph, or anything that feels unique, and then sign and number them so that the art director knows they are truly unique. 
  • Make a series of quick original drawings, these can be small, come up with a simple idea, and draw it over and over. Do them as unique pieces to send on their own, or as something to personalize a promo book or postcard. 
  • Print an actual book out, this can be done at home on a personal printer. Or make a zine of black and white drawings, use a Xerox machine to print them. Be ambitious and use a Risograph or screen print it or use print on demand sites like Magclowd or Blurb. 
  • Consider designing the envelope, there are templates online to follow the USPS guidelines that show you were not to print art, as to not interfere with other important information. You can have these custom printed, or print them and assemble them yourself. 

Promo Books

Getting a Gig: Print Promo Strategy | Art Business Journal

La Clave: Photographs of Cuba by Steve Schlackman, Artrepreneur’s CPO. See a preview of this book on Blurb.

When I design a promo book I have two strategies. I will collect highlights from the past year, 12-24 of my best images, and lay them out in a magazine-style book at roughly 8.5×11 inches (following a template that is easy for print on demand.) Or I will come up with a theme like location drawings in the city, something broad that will have wide appeal and create a new body of work to turn into a book. I take my time on the design and layout, pass it by my design friends for feedback. I want these to feel like serious collections of work, even narrative projects rather than just promo pieces. which allows me to sell them at comic, book, and zine conventions as well as online. Selling them helps me offset the cost of the initial promo run, and also helps build a fan base for my work beyond just clients. These books need to have a longer life than just one promo run.

When doing a promotional campaign an important thing to keep in mind is numbers. In a previous article, I wrote about two types of contact lists, one as a large collect-all list, another as a more targeted dream-client list. The latter of those is where I focus on printed promo. I will write about budgeting in a future piece, but a promo mailing, with print costs, postage and envelopes, easily rises above a thousand dollars. This is a necessary business expense and something that needs to be looked at as a way of generating more revenue, so ideally it will pay for itself and has much more longevity in its ability to make money than an easily forgettable email blast, but it needs to be targeted and efficient. It should be sent to art directors that you know want to receive it, it should be art that appeals to that client (based on your past experiences with that client, and your market research on the kind of work that the client commissions). Because of the cost, you want to be certain you are not wasting the effort, which means sending it to a more limited and specific audience. The further you are along in your career, these become the kind of promotions that you will prioritize to repeat clients. Promotion evolves from a way to attract new clients into a sign of appreciation for those you have spent years working with and with who you want to maintain a strong relationship with. 

Printed Material Resources:

Here’s a list of print resources for various materials!

Print on Demand:

Lulu https://www.lulu.com/

Blurb http://www.blurb.com/

Magclowd http://www.magcloud.com/

Digital editions:

Issuu https://issuu.com/

Mag+  https://www.magplus.com/

Cards and Printed Matter:

newsprint club https://www.newspaperclub.com/

4 over 4 http://www.4over4.com/

PsPrint https://www.psprint.com/

https://skink.ink/

Overnight prints http://www.overnightprints.com/

Haven press http://havenpress.com/

Moo https://www.moo.com/us/products/business-cards.html

Jukebox http://www.jukeboxprint.com/

Vistaprint https://www.vistaprint.com/

Offset book printing for comics and other books:

Linco http://lincoprinting.com/

Minutemen press http://www.brooklyn.minutemanpress.com/

Brenner printing http://www.brennerprinting.com/

Asia pacific offset http://www.asiapacificoffset.com/

print-resources.tumblr.com

 

What do you do for printables? Comment below!

Matthew Rota
Matthew Rota

A graduate of The Maryland Institute College of Art’s General Fine Arts program and the School of Visual Art’s MFA Visual Essay program, Matt Rota is an illustrator, author, and instructor. He’s spent the past 15 years working with clients in print and online including the New York Times, the New Yorker, Penguin Books, The LA Times, The Washington Post, Foreign Policy, The New Republic, Smithsonian, Variety, Buzzfeed, and many others. His illustrations focus primarily on global politics, criminal justice, social inequality, immigration, and poverty. His work in illustration has been recognized by several industry organizations including Communication Arts, Spectrum, 3X3 Magazine, and The Society of Illustrators, where he has won two silver medals, one for his work on the documentary Silent Truth, a documentary on the threat of violence towards women in the U.S. Military, another for a series of drawings with ProPublica on Fire Stone Tires and the Liberian Genocide.

Contact Us

Address: Grant Programs 1145 17th Street N.W.
Phone: 888-557-4450
Email: [email protected]
Support: EngoTheme

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter to recevie updates.