作为一个经历过无薪实习、7.25 美元的密苏里州最低工资、以物换物换取曝光以及一系列令人尴尬的价格谈判的人,我可以确认定价插图和设计工作很难。 我希望这篇文章是定价工作的一刀切策略,但不幸的是,艺术行业的定价取决于许多因素。 还有许多不同的方法可以为每个客户量身定制公平的数字。 这篇由两部分组成的文章将主要关注开发商业和私人委托作品的策略。

了解你的价值

尽管插画家首先将自己视为创作者,但重要的是要认识到成功的插画家也必须是成功的商业人士。 插画家往往会低估自己的作品; 通常是副产品 冒名顶替综合症 以及全面的定价缺乏透明度。 社交媒体展示了插图迷人的一面,本质上是艺术家作品的“亮点卷轴”,这进一步强化了这一点。 我看到很多年轻的毕业生和闯入该行业的人在他们应该将自己视为专业人士的情况下将自己定价为新手。 

通常,人们低估了制作一件作品所需的时间以及磨练我们的工艺所需的多年培训和实践。 我们生活在一个注重图像的文化中,这给人的印象是艺术随手可得,制作起来又快又便宜。 教育和经验是影响您价值的资产,并将您带到定价的起点。 至少,艺术学位或类似的教育和工作经验应使您的时薪至少达到 50 美元。

这可能看起来很高,但这就是冒名顶替综合症的说法。 我知道在个人佣金的世界里,对完成的工作收取更少的费用是一种普遍的做法。 Upwork 和 Fiverr 等网站也对价值或插图工作不利,因为这些网站的格式鼓励艺术家降低价格并相互竞争以吸引一大批客户——客户可能在不知不觉中低估了真正的劳动力成本. 结果,这些网站让艺术家以低价制作大量作品,而不是以公平的报酬率管理更宽容的工作量。

费率透明度

有些费率是一成不变的。 并非所有这些都是公平的,但它们往往是不可移动的——除了额外的加急费。 您经常在编辑界看到这一点,在那里媒体出版物的预算很少,并且为几乎没有谈判余地的项目设定费率。

Illustrator 定价第 1 部分 | 艺术商业杂志

为了提高工资透明度,像 Litebox 的 Rate Finder 和 #publishingpaidme 数据库这样的网站都是价格的众包集合,以帮助艺术家确定定价规范。 据 Litebox 称,草根倡议是由插画师为插画师创建的,旨在为行业创造更好的工作条件。

“数据向我们表明,虽然有些客户是一致的,但许多客户在付款方面却无处不在。 出版物可能在 5,000 美元至 80,000 美元的范围内。 这些交易的细节对于确定这些价格很重要,但在编辑方面,我们经常看到许多服装完全相同类型的印刷和网络工作的价格波动很大。 对我们来说,利率共享很重要,因为它突出了这些差异。” 

Rate Finder 诞生于自由职业者的集体沮丧感,因为他们觉得定价总是在黑暗中进行,除非您可以将客户费率与好友进行比较。 如果预算感觉很低,您有权与感觉更公平的还价进行谈判。 如果设定了艺术品预算,则由您作为自由职业者来决定是否接受该项目。 Litebox 认为,共享信息、联系人、代理、定价策略等是专业人士可以相互保护并确保每个人都得到公平报酬的方式。

计算您的基准利率

大多数客户根据项目费用收费,而不是按小时付费。 很大程度上,这是因为跟踪时间很困难,而且成本可能未知。 因此,提出费率的最简单方法是:

每小时费率 ✕ 小时数(草图、最终艺术和可能的修订)= 项目价格。

不要忘记为行政工作留出额外的时间,例如准备客户介绍、接听电话或对竞争市场进行研究。 


对我来说,我提出的项目建议书为创作过程的每个阶段都附上了价格。 这有助于证明最终成本的合理性,并允许在客户需要降低成本时进行谈判。 例如,我的默认设置可能是两轮修订,但我们可以将工作范围缩小到一轮以节省一些成本。 过程中的透明度有助于与客户建立信任,并帮助他们重视您带来的工作。

随意使用我的 模板 为了佣金!

如前所述,50 美元/小时是理想的最低自由职业率。 但是,有几个因素会影响您的个人时薪。

阅读本文的第 2 部分 点击此处!

你是插画师吗? 你有什么定价技巧? 在下方评论!

莫莉·马格内尔
莫莉·马格内尔

莫莉·马格内尔(Molly Magnell)是一个在纽约/新泽西州生活和工作的长着铅笔的孩子。 她擅长创作混合自然、强大女性和绿色植物的生活方式图像。 她还利用自己的设计技能通过平面设​​计完善品牌身份来提升品牌(如 Artrepreneur!)。 她分别于 2018 年和 2014 年毕业于 Sam Fox School 和 Phillips Academy Andover,获得传播设计学士学位。 她的作品获得了插画家协会、美国平面设计奖、3×3 杂志和 Adob​​e 设计成就奖的认可。 客户包括纽约时报、NPR、Adobe、马歇尔项目和麦迪逊广场花园。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

As someone who’s been through the wringer of unpaid internships, $7.25 Missouri minimum wage, barters for work in exchange for exposure, and a number of embarrassing price negotiations, I can confirm that pricing illustration and design work is hard. I wish this article were a one-size-fits-all strategy to pricing work, but unfortunately, pricing in the art industry is dependent on a number of factors. There are also a number of different approaches to tailoring a fair figure for each client. This two-part article will focus mainly on strategies for developing commercial and privately commissioned work.

Knowing Your Worth

Even though illustrators see themselves as creators first, it’s important to recognize that a successful illustrator must also be a successful business person. Illustrators tend to undervalue their own work; often a byproduct of imposter syndrome and a lack of transparency in pricing across the board. This gets reinforced by social media showing the glamorous side of illustration and essentially the “highlight reels” of artists’ work. I see many cases of young grads and people breaking into the industry pricing themselves as novices when they should be seeing themselves as professionals. 

Often, people underestimate the time that goes into making a piece and the years of training and practice that go into honing our craft. We live in an image-heavy culture, which gives the impression that art is readily available and can be made quickly and cheaply. Education and experience are assets that affect your worth and bring you to a starting point for pricing. At a minimum, a degree in art or comparable education and work experience should bring you to a minimum hourly rate of $50.

This may seem high, but that’s the imposter syndrome talking. I know it’s a common practice in the world of personal commissions to charge far less for finished work. Sites like Upwork and Fiverr are also detrimental to the value or illustration work because the format of these sites encourages artists to undercut their prices and compete with one another to attract a stream of clients–clients that may unknowingly under-value the true cost of labor. As a result, these sites have artists churning out large quantities of work at a low price instead of managing a more forgiving workload at a fair compensation rate.

Rate Transparency

Some rates are set in stone. Not all of them are fair, but they tend to be immovable–save for an additional rush fee. You often see this in the editorial world, where media publications have lean budgets and set rates for projects with little to no wiggle room for negotiation.

Pricing for Illustrators Part 1 | Art Business Journal

To increase wage transparency, sites like Litebox’s Rate Finder and the #publishingpaidme database are both crowdsourced collections of prices to help artists determine pricing norms. According to Litebox, a grassroots initiative was created by illustrators for illustrators to create better working conditions for the industry.

“Data shows us that while there are clients who are consistent, many are all over the place in terms of payments. Publication can fall within a range of $5,000 – $80,000. The details on these deals are important for determining those prices but on the editorial side we frequently see a lot of price fluctuation for the exact same kinds of print & web jobs at many outfits. To us, rate sharing is important because it highlights those differences.” 

The Rate Finder was born out of freelancers’ collective frustration at feeling like the pricing was always a shot in the dark unless you could compare client rates with a buddy. If a budget ever feels low, you have the power to it’s within your right to negotiate with a counteroffer that feels fairer. If the artwork budget is set, it’s up to you as a freelancer to decide whether or not to accept the project. Litebox believes that sharing information, contacts, agents, pricing strategies, etc. is how professionals can protect each other and ensure that everyone gets paid fairly.

Calculating Your Baseline Rate

Most clients charge based on a project fee instead of paying hourly. Largely, this is because tracking hours is difficult and can amount to an unknown cost. Therefore, the easiest approach to coming up with a rate is:

hourly rate ✕ number of hours (sketching, final art, and possible revisions) = project price.

Don’t forget to factor in additional time for administrative work, such as preparing client presentations, taking calls, or doing research on the competitive market. 


For me, I present project proposals that attach a price to each stage of the creative process. This helps to justify the final cost and allows for negotiation if the client needs to bring down the cost. For example, my default might be two rounds of revisions, but we can alter the scope of work down to one round to shave off some of the cost. Transparency in the process helps establish trust with the client and helps them value the work you bring to the table.

Feel free to use my template for commissions!

As mentioned previously, $50/ hour is the ideal minimum freelancing rate. However, there are several factors to consider that affect your personal hourly rate.

Read part 2 of this article here!

Are you an illustrator? What pricing tips do you have? Comment below!

Molly Magnell
Molly Magnell

Molly Magnell is an overgrown child with a pencil living and working in NYC/ NJ. She specializes in creating lifestyle imagery that mixes nature, powerful women, and greenery. She also utilizes her design skills to elevate brands (like Artrepreneur!) by refining their identity through graphic design. She graduated with a BFA in Communication Design from the Sam Fox School in 2018 and Phillips Academy Andover in 2014. Her work has been recognized by the Society of Illustrators, American Graphic Design Awards, 3×3 Magazine, and the Adobe Design Achievement Awards. Clients include The New York Times, NPR, Adobe, the Marshall Project, and Madison Square Garden.

Contact Us

Address: Grant Programs 1145 17th Street N.W.
Phone: 888-557-4450
Email: [email protected]
Support: EngoTheme

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter to recevie updates.