如果您错过了本文的第 1 部分,请单击 点击此处!

查找您的小时费率

我们确定基准应该是每小时 50 美元,但是鉴于您的特定经验水平和生活环境,您应该收取多少费用? 如果您是一名全职自由职业者,您需要考虑每周花多少小时用于客户工作与个人业务管理,例如管理发票、合同谈判和投资组合维护。 这些数字加起来,所以实际上,每周 40 小时的全职工作可能更接近于 25-30 小时专门用于客户工作的计费小时数。

自由职业者还必须考虑生活成本因素,包括医疗保健、租金、公用事业、食品、儿童保育、用品和软件订阅。 您的小时费率必须足够高以支付这些费用,并且最好能解决客户工作中的间歇期。 计算器,例如 Beewits 的自由计算器 或者更广泛的 自由游牧民族 计算器会考虑您的独特因素来制定每小时费率。 

排版员和设计师 杰西卡·希切(Jessica Hische) 建议为您的小时费率制定一个量表。 秤的底部是您可以收取的绝对最低金额,但仍能支付您每月的所有必需品。 上限是“梦寐以求的薪水”。 也许你想要更多的假期和额外的花钱。 您可以创建一个目标工资,将您的小时费率的大括号放在最后。 在这两个数字之间是你的 理想的小时费率,可用于计算项目费率。 

随意使用我的 模板 为了佣金!

基准小时费率 ✕ 小时数定价方法非常适合个人佣金,但不是向商业客户收费的最有效方式。 预算较大的大客户将艺术品与他们的品牌结合使用来增强他们的产品。 因此,艺术的成本应该随着观众的重要性和规模的增加而增加。

许可

默认情况下,艺术品的创作者保留版权,但可以将其创作许可给客户一段时间。 通常,合同会设置“独占期”,即客户是唯一可以使用作品的实体的时间长度。 在这些期限结束时,自由职业者收回对艺术品的全部权利,包括将其许可给另一家公司,将其作为印刷品出售等。

有时,这些许可交易可能会限制在几个月内。 有时它们可​​以持续数年。 有时,客户会想要完全拥有作品并从您那里购买版权(这可以称为“出租作品”或“完全买断”),这意味着您肯定应该提高价格。 完全买断在品牌推广中很常见,客户需要拥有诸如文字商标之类的东西,客户希望能够在各种媒体中编辑或使用作品,或者拥有展示作品的专有权。 简而言之,更长的许可期限等同于更高的费用。

Illustrator 定价第 2 部分 | 艺术商业杂志

杰西卡·希切(Jessica Hische),美国刻字艺术家、插画家、作家和字体设计师。

我再次提到定价向导 Jessica Hische 处理许可的问题:艺术家可以创造艺术制作费和许可费。 第一笔费用仅包括制作委托图像的费用。 第二笔费用可根据使用情况和客户规模进行调整。 

例如,假设两个不同的组织想要为其春季产品设计的菜单。 其中一个是当地的夫妻店,另一个是全国连锁餐厅。 他们都有相同的需求,但向一家小餐馆收取与全国连锁店相同的价格是不公平的,反之亦然。 这里是 Hische 建议使用乘数来确定许可成本的地方。 如果工作范围达到约 20 小时。 对于小餐厅,您可以使用您个人较低的价格报价; 说 60 美元/小时,制作费为 1200 美元。 对于较大的餐厅,您可以使用每小时 90 美元的上限价格来确定 1800 美元的估计值。 对于小餐厅,您可以使用相当于制作费一半的许可费,总共1800美元用于春季菜单设计。 对于更大的连锁店,作品在国家层面的更广泛分布可以保证制作费用的 4 或 5 倍乘数,从而使成本超过 7,200 美元。 

杂项定价因素

加急工作还应产生额外费用,以解决它给您的日程安排带来的压力。 自由职业者可以根据工作范围来判断截止日期是否匆忙。 通常,最好额外增加 10-20% 的项目成本来满足最后一刻的需求。

插画师兼讲师 马特·罗塔 教导他的学生,在极少数情况下,免费工作会转化为有价值的交流。 虽然许多艺术家在社交媒体上获得了糟糕的艺术交易以换取“曝光”,但有时免费工作是值得的,如果这意味着与您欣赏的艺术家一起属于选集或为您结盟的非营利组织工作。 了解您的价值意味着您可以评估这些情况并决定哪些项目值得。

为朋友和家人定价

Illustrator 定价第 2 部分 | 艺术商业杂志

本书作者, 约翰·亨德里克斯

对于许多刚起步的艺术家来说,客户是通过口耳相传的方式来自朋友和家人。 向奶奶收取她心爱的猫的佣金可能会让人觉得不道德。 插画家和儿童读物作者向我推荐的一种策略, 约翰·亨德里克斯, 是在正常定价项目后给你的工作打一个朋友和家人的折扣。 这可以从 15% 到 40% 不等,但它向客户展示了您时间的真正价值,同时让自己成为专业人士。

即使是行业资深人士,也经常相互协商,询问如何为项目定价。 随着时间的推移,定价会变得更容易,因为你对合适的数字产生了“直觉”。

 

 

作为插画师,您还有什么问题吗? 定价时什么最适合您? 在下方评论!

莫莉·马格内尔
莫莉·马格内尔

莫莉·马格内尔(Molly Magnell)是一个在纽约/新泽西州生活和工作的长着铅笔的孩子。 她擅长创作混合自然、强大女性和绿色植物的生活方式图像。 她还利用自己的设计技能通过平面设​​计完善品牌身份来提升品牌(如 Artrepreneur!)。 她分别于 2018 年和 2014 年毕业于 Sam Fox School 和 Phillips Academy Andover,获得传播设计学士学位。 她的作品获得了插画家协会、美国平面设计奖、3×3 杂志和 Adob​​e 设计成就奖的认可。 客户包括纽约时报、NPR、Adobe、马歇尔项目和麦迪逊广场花园。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

If you missed Part 1 of this article, click here!

Finding Your Hourly Rate

We established that the baseline should be $50 an hour, but how much should you charge given your particular experience level and living circumstances? If you’re a full-time freelancer, you need to consider how many hours a week you dedicate to client work vs. personal business administration, such as managing invoices, contract negotiations, and portfolio upkeep. Those numbers add up, so realistically, a full-time job of 40 hours a week may be closer to 25-30 hours of billable hours dedicated to client work.

A freelancer must also consider the cost of living factors including healthcare, rent, utilities, food, child care, supplies, and software subscriptions. Your hourly rate must be high enough to cover these expenses and ideally account for lulls in client work. Calculators such as Beewits’s freelance calculator or the broader Freelance Nomads calculator take your unique factors into consideration to develop an hourly rate. 

Typographer and designer Jessica Hische recommends developing a scale for your hourly rates. The bottom of the scale is the absolute lowest amount you can charge and still cover all of your monthly necessities. The upper range is a “dream salary.” Perhaps you want more vacation days and extra spending money. You can create a goal salary that bookends the upper bracket of your hourly rate. Between these two numbers sits your ideal hourly rate, which you can use to calculate project rates. 

Feel free to use my template for commissions!

The baseline hourly rate ✕ number of hours approach to pricing is great for personal commissions but is not the most effective way to charge for commercial clients. Large clients that have larger budgets use artwork in conjunction with their brand to enhance their products. Therefore, the cost of the art should increase as the importance and size of the audience increases.

Licensing

By default, the creator of the artwork retains the copyright but can license their creation to a client for a period of time. Often, contracts will set up “exclusivity periods,” which are lengths of time in which the client is the only entity that can use the work. At the end of these periods, the freelancer reclaims full rights to the artwork, which can include licensing it to another company, selling it as a print, etc.

Sometimes these license deals can be limited to a couple of months. Sometimes they can last years. Sometimes, the client will want to completely own the work and buy the copyright from you (this can be referred to as “work for hire” or a “full buyout”) and means that you should definitely hike up the price. Full buyouts are common in branding where a client needs to own something like a wordmark, the client wants to be able to edit or use the work in a variety of mediums, or own exclusive rights to display the work. In short, longer licensing periods equate to higher fees.

Pricing for Illustrators Part 2 | Art Business Journal

Jessica Hische, American lettering artist, illustrator, author, and type designer.

I once again refer to pricing wizard Jessica Hische on her take to handling licenses: artists can create an art-making fee and a licensing fee. The first fee solely covers the cost of making the commissioned image. The second fee can be adjusted based on the usage and the size of the client. 

For instance, let’s say two different organizations want a menu designed for their spring offerings. One of them is a local mom-and-pop establishment and the other is a national restaurant franchise. They both have the same needs, but it would be unfair to charge a small restaurant the same price you would charge a national chain, and vice versa. Here’s where Hische recommends using multipliers to determine the licensing costs. If the scope of work comes out to ~20 hours of work. For the small restaurant, you may quote the creation price using your personal lower rate; say $60/ hour for a making fee of $1200. For the larger restaurant, you may use an upper bracket price of $90 an hour to establish an $1800 estimate. For the small restaurant, you may use a license fee equal to half of the making fee, making the total $1800 for use of the menu design for the spring season. For the larger chain, the broader distribution of the work at a national level can warrant a 4 or 5× multiplier on the making fee to bring the cost upwards of $7,200. 

Misc. Pricing Factors

Rush jobs should also incur an additional fee to account for the strain it puts on your schedule. It’s up to the freelancer’s discretion to judge whether a deadline is rushed based on the scope of work. Typically, it’s best to tack on an additional 10-20% of the project cost to accommodate the last-minute needs.

Illustrator and instructor Matt Rota teaches his students that there are rare instances where working for free translates into worthwhile exchanges. While many artists are offered bad deals for art in exchange for “exposure” on social media, sometimes it’s worth working for free if it means belonging to an anthology with an artist you admire or doing work for a non-profit you align with. Knowing your worth means you can assess these situations and decide what projects are worth it.

Pricing for Friends and Family

Pricing for Illustrators Part 2 | Art Business Journal

Book Author, John Hendrix

For many artists just starting out, clients come from friends and family through word of mouth. It may feel immoral charging Grandma your full rate for a commission of her beloved cat. One strategy, recommended to me by illustrator and children’s book author, John Hendrix, is to slap a friends and family discount on your work after pricing the project normally. This can range anywhere from 15 – 40%, but it shows the client the true value of your time while establishing yourself as a professional.

Even industry veterans constantly confer with one another to ask how to price a project. Over time, pricing becomes easier as you develop a “gut feeling” for what feels like the right number to pitch.

 

 

Do you have any further questions as an illustrator? What is best for you when pricing? Comment below!

Molly Magnell
Molly Magnell

Molly Magnell is an overgrown child with a pencil living and working in NYC/ NJ. She specializes in creating lifestyle imagery that mixes nature, powerful women, and greenery. She also utilizes her design skills to elevate brands (like Artrepreneur!) by refining their identity through graphic design. She graduated with a BFA in Communication Design from the Sam Fox School in 2018 and Phillips Academy Andover in 2014. Her work has been recognized by the Society of Illustrators, American Graphic Design Awards, 3×3 Magazine, and the Adobe Design Achievement Awards. Clients include The New York Times, NPR, Adobe, the Marshall Project, and Madison Square Garden.

Contact Us

Address: Grant Programs 1145 17th Street N.W.
Phone: 888-557-4450
Email: [email protected]
Support: EngoTheme

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter to recevie updates.