fbpx

快闪体验比以往任何时候都更受欢迎,从食品卡车到购物中心贺卡亭。 艺术家、画廊、企业和设计师也参与其中。 随着品牌和创意人员寻求新的方式来吸引客户并利用社交媒体的力量,快闪空间或商店是一种廉价的解决方案。 使用快闪画廊或商店,您可以前往任何地理位置,而无需花费高昂的永久性店面成本,持续几天到几周或更长时间。 弹出窗口也非常适合尝试新的想法和工作。 您可以创建一个短期的新产品,以在完全发布之前了解客户的反应,从而为您提供有关客户需求的有价值的市场研究。 

尽管在网上出售您的作品很容易,但触摸和试用产品或与卖家交谈的实际体验无法在互联网上完全取代。 弹出窗口填补了客户寻找有趣、独特体验、提供娱乐和“Instagrammable”的空白。 弹出 画廊和商店出现在艺术博览会、文化活动、市场和节日中和周围。  

冰淇淋弹出博物馆

冰淇淋博物馆在全国“突然出现”,现在在国际上有永久的地点。 CC 照片由 Steve Jurvetson 拍摄。

一个成功的弹出窗口的令人垂涎的例子是 冰淇淋博物馆. 弹出式博物馆从几个地点开始 2016 年在全国范围内。观众喜欢它。 这是有趣的体验式社交媒体糖果。 三年后,博物馆现在在世界各地拥有永久地点,并且已经产生 一家“体验至上”的母公司,图 8,与 200亿美元的估值 以及最初的 40 万美元投资。

快闪画廊或商店的另一个吸引人的特点是它的民主性质。 任何人都可以创建一个,这意味着您也可以。 以下是您在计划弹出窗口时要考虑的事项。

快闪表演和商店的好处

专业化和物理空间的力量

虽然由画廊代理或举办大型画廊展览不再是艺术家获得商业成功的先决条件,但让值得信赖的第三方认可您的作品对艺术家的职业生涯仍然很重要。 在墙上看到艺术家的作品或在有很多空白空间的房间里专业地展示对观众来说仍然意味着一些东西,并且通常表明艺术家是成功的和专业的。 如果您没有画廊代表或在艺术空间展示的机会,组织您自己的快闪店是表达您作为艺术家的承诺、通过展览经验建立您的简历并获得您的艺术作品的专业图像的完美方式显示在物理空间中。  

目标当地人和邻居

虽然社交媒体一直是艺术家接触全球观众的成功方式,但快闪表演是定位当地邻居或经常光顾社区的人群的好方法。 例如,您可以在金融区举办一场快闪秀,向那些有钱花在艺术品上但没有时间或专业知识自行寻找的专业人士推销您的作品。

当您在居住或工作的当地社区举办临时表演时,您就是在宣传自己是当地艺术家。 随着“购买本地”运动从您购买食物到您经常光顾的“妈妈和流行”企业,客户寻求并欣赏他们的钱将支持他们所在地区的艺术家,帮助他们发展当地的艺术和文化场景繁荣。 无论哪种方式,快闪店或演出都是与邻居和当地企业建立联系、谈论您的工作以及产生销售或自由演出的好方法。 亲自与观众联系和互动具有难以置信的价值。

控制你的视力

当与提供表演或空间的其他人合作或为其他人工作时,您经常不得不妥协,甚至放弃对您的作品的展示或营销方式的一些控制。 通过组织您自己的快闪秀,您可以控制自己的视野,了解它的外观和组织方式。 通过设计您自己的展示、标牌和客户体验,您向观众展示了您希望如何看待和消费您的作品的愿景。 与原型非常相似,快闪表演可以帮助企业、画廊和资助者等决策者了解您对未来表演的愿景和潜力。 

与他人合作

组织快闪店是与其他艺术家、设计师、企业或品牌合作的巨大动力。 许多视觉艺术家和设计师单独工作,工作可能是孤立的,因此很难合作并从其他工作方式中获得灵感。 弹出窗口让您有机会与您欣赏或分享您愿景的其他创意人员合作,在同一空间中展示。 借助多个创意的联合力量,您可以利用彼此的网络和平台相互促进并扩大影响范围。

产生额外收入和销售额

在农贸市场、集市和节日期间的快闪表演是通过出售您的作品赚取额外收入的好方法。 这也是测试您正在考虑的工作的新设计或功能的机会。 鉴于弹出窗口可能是您职业生涯中下一步采取的正确步骤的所有原因,是时候开始弄清楚细节以实现它了。

虽然弹出窗口是自发地出现在公众面前,但它们需要仔细的战略规划才能成功执行。 对其他成功的或已经在您选择的地点发生的弹出窗口进行市场调查对于了解您正在进入的内容以及您需要准备的内容至关重要。 无论是在一年中寻找合适的时间举办快闪店或演出,还是举办它的最佳社区,或者合适的市场或公平参与,去潜在买家所在的地方。

去买家设置弹出窗口的一个很好的例子是 Artstream游牧画廊 在全国范围内销售手工陶瓷。 巡回快闪店在会议和其他活动中停留,届时将有数千名对这种艺术形式感兴趣的与会者。

艺术家弹出画廊

艺术流游牧画廊在 NCECA会议 在买家所在的道路上采用快闪店概念。

弹出式计划

虽然快闪秀和商店是短期的,但规划它们是一个长期的项目。 您需要组织一个成功的弹出窗口,其中包含明确的目标、预算和实现目标的方法。 

  1. 定义弹出窗口的目的。  是为了推广您的艺术和您自己、分享特殊的愿景、赚取额外收入、尝试新的艺术形式或产品线,还是建立联系? 不要因为其他人都在做,就去做。 
  2. 制定预算。 你愿意投资多少钱? 你打算花多少钱? 你希望赚多少钱? 提出这些问题将帮助您确定需要筹集多少资金来填补空白。 
  3. 制定筹款计划. 您将如何从您自己以外的其他来源筹集资金来资助您的弹出窗口? 这可能意味着确定门票价格(如果有的话),从您可以通过 Kickstarter 或 Patreon 收集的朋友和粉丝那里筹集现金捐款,或者从餐饮供应商和场地所有者那里获得实物捐款。 为您的待售作品定价 带来收入也很重要。

寻找快闪场地或赞助商

组织一个快闪店就是建立伙伴关系。 当您试图获得一个负担得起的场所来宣传您的作品时,请始终记住从合作伙伴的角度开始了解其中的内容。 他们将如何从与您的合作中受益? 为您提供更便宜的服务和空间? 今天有很多混合使用的空间,包括室内和室外。 环顾四周,看看从现有的活动和场地到手工艺品展览会的可能性。 

在纽约和洛杉矶等许多大城市,都有专门为艺术家和画廊举办快闪表演的企业。 这些通常发生在空的、白色立方体的画廊空间和准备用于创意的混合用途空间中。 您只需支付他们的费用,他们就会推荐员工、餐饮服务商和处理业务。 

但是,艺术家可以考虑其他一些空间可能价格更低,空间更富想象力。 

为您的弹出窗口寻找空白空间

空置房产空间的房东通常对弹出式提案持开放态度。 由于他们没有从空间中获得任何收入,因此任何可能以积极的方式反映他们的空间并吸引兴趣的活动对他们都有好处。 您需要做的就是打电话给这些业主,并充分说明您的弹出窗口为什么以及如何使他们受益。 这可能包括吸引特定人群到他们的空间,精美的摄影展示他们的财产空间的潜力,或者只是将他们定位为关心当地艺术家和社会责任的财产所有者。 但是,请记住,空置的空间可能还没有完全准备好进行演出,并且可能涉及安全措施、保险等责任。 

零售店或小型企业

时尚精品店和餐厅等店面企业是组织低价快闪店的好地方。 这些企业已经开始营业,在那里展示艺术品不仅可以吸引人流,还可以将空间装饰得很漂亮。 您可以向企业主提议,您想在那里免费展示您的艺术作品一段时间,他们可能会收到少量佣金作为回报,或者您可以提议举办一个弹出式画廊开幕式和营业时间后显示。 时装精品店经常在晚上关门。 而且由于他们无论如何都要支付租金,因此不妨通过举办您的节目来获得一些额外的收入。 

住宅/公寓/艺术家工作室

在公寓或艺术家工作室举办临时展览可能看起来不像画廊空间那么专业,或者能够容纳尽可能多的人,但是在我们目前所处的经验饥渴的环境中,许多人正在寻求非常规的方式来体验艺术,你的可能就是它。 如果你有空间和视野,你可以在你的家或工作室举办,或者你问一个朋友,甚至问物业经理或开发商他们是否可以租给你一个表演公寓一晚,以换取小额付款或积极的回报品牌。 总是有合作的空间,只要你为他们做一个强有力的例子。

大学和机构

最后,大学和非营利组织、基金会、教堂等机构有足够的空间可用于正当理由。 除了机构内的演讲厅或艺术画廊,在教室、走廊甚至楼梯上总是有空间进行弹出式表演。 唯一的问题是您需要与该机构建立联系才能提出申请。 联系您所在地区的当地机构,将自己定位为举办社区活动的当地艺术家。 许多机构需要社区外展的机会,而您的快闪活动可以做到这一点。 您还可以引入机构可能无法访问的新受众。 无论哪种方式,您的艺术都会造福他人并提供乐趣。 

主题和策展

无论您是做个展还是集体商店,您都需要提前考虑以确定主题或策展方向。 一个经过深思熟虑的节目或快闪店将使您与其他人区分开来,并向您的观众展示您是一个专业的创意人。 

营销材料

确定场地和主题后,在线和离线推广您的快闪表演很重要。 在预算较低的情况下,最好将社交媒体作为您的推广方式最大化。 但是,不要低估传单等传统营销的价值。 在较小的城市和社区,向经常走过该空间或将他们留在受欢迎的咖啡馆的顾客分发您的节目传单可能会让您惊讶于他们的工作效率。  

活动

虽然快闪画廊展览不一定需要快闪开幕,但举办实体活动是聚集动力的好方法。 画廊开幕总是一种有趣的方式,可以鼓励参观者与您和您的艺术互动,创造嗡嗡声并促进销售。 对于某些具有特定主题的弹出式节目,可能会决定就该主题进行演讲或小组讨论。 并尝试创造性地思考如何与对您互惠互利的空间进行协作。 例如,如果您在一家葡萄酒商店举办展览,店主可以在招待会上提供他们的葡萄酒样品,并为注册电子邮件列表的访客提供折扣。 

定时弹出窗口

最后,弹出窗口的时机非常重要。 根据您开设快闪店的地点和目标人群,您可能希望在繁忙的艺术季期间开设快闪店,以配合您所在地区的艺术活动和人群,但最终可能会被他们。 您可能希望在假日购物时间举办您的节目,届时您的客户正在寻找特别的礼物。 您可能希望在气候周期间举办关于您的环境主题艺术的小组活动,以引起轰动。 开设快闪画廊或商店没有对错之分,它必须具有战略意义。 

你以前有过快闪画廊、商店或空间吗? 效果如何? 您有哪些技巧或经验教训可以与他人分享? 在评论部分告诉我们!

袁咏仪
袁咏仪

Alexis Yuen 是一位艺术顾问、商业和品牌战略家、艺术巡回讲解员、活动家和前艺术家。 在创立艺术外交官(永远的顾问)之前,她曾在顶级艺术展巴塞尔艺术展和佳士得拍卖行工作。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

artist pop up gallery
Marketing Exhibiting Income + Funding Promotion Selling

A Creative’s Guide to Planning a Pop-Up Gallery or Shop

Pop-up experiences are becoming more popular than ever, from food trucks to shopping mall greeting card kiosks. Artists, galleries, businesses, and designers are in on the action, too.  As brands and creatives seek new ways to engage customers and take advantage of the power of social media, a pop-up space or store is an inexpensive solution. With a pop-up gallery or shop, you can go to any geographic location without the high cost of a permanent storefront, lasting for a few days to a few weeks or longer. Pop-ups are also great for experimenting with new ideas and work. You can create a short run of new products to see what customers respond to before fully launching them, providing you with valuable market research about what customers want. 

Even though it’s easy to put your work up for sale online, the physical experience of touching and trying a product, or speaking with the seller can’t be fully replaced on the internet. Pop-ups fill the gap for customers looking for fun, unique experiences that provide entertainment and are “Instagrammable”. Pop-up galleries and shops appear in and around art fairs, cultural events, marketplaces, and festivals.  

pop-up museum of ice cream
The Museum of Ice Cream “popped up” across the country and now has permanent international locations. CC photo by Photo by Steve Jurvetson.

A mouth-watering example of a successful pop-up is The Museum of Ice Cream. The pop-up museum started with several locations across the country in 2016. Audiences loved it. It was fun, experiential and social media candy. Three years later, the Museum now has permanent locations around the world and has spawned an “experience first” parent company, Figure8, with a $200 million valuation and initial $40 million dollar investment.

Another attractive feature of the pop-up gallery or shop is its democratic nature; anyone can create one and this means so can you. Here’s what to think about as you plan your pop-up.

Benefits of Pop-Up Shows and Shops

Professionalization and the Power of Physical Space

While being represented by a gallery or having a major gallery show is no longer a prerequisite to commercial success for an artist, having a trusted third party recognize your work is still important to an artist’s career. Seeing an artist’s works on the wall or being displayed professionally in a room with lots of white space still means something to the viewer and often shows that the artist is successful and professional. If you don’t have gallery representation or opportunities to show in art spaces, organizing your own pop-up is the perfect way to convey your commitment as an artist, build your resume with an exhibition experience, and get professional images of your artwork being displayed in a physical space.  

Target Locals and Neighbors

While social media has been a successful way for artists to reach out to a global audience, pop-up shows are a great way to target your local neighbors or a demographic that frequents a neighborhood. For example, you can have a pop-up show in a financial district to market your work to professionals who have money to spend on the artwork but no time or expertise to look for it on their own.

When you do a pop-up show in your local neighborhood where you live or work, you’re promoting yourself as a local artist. With the “buy local” movement from where you buy food to which “Mom and Pop” businesses you frequent, customers seek out and appreciate that their money is going to support an artist right in their area, helping develop their local arts and culture scene flourish. Either way, a pop-up shop or show is a great way to network with neighbors and local businesses, talk about your work, and generate sales or freelance gigs. There is incredible value in connecting and interacting with your audience in-person.

Control Your Vision

When working with or for others who are providing a show or space, you often have to compromise and even forego some control on how your work is presented or marketed. By organizing your own pop-up show, you maintain control of your vision for how its seen and organized. By designing your own displays, signage and customer experience, you’re showing your audience your vision of how you want your work to be seen and consumed. Very much like a prototype, pop-up shows help decision-makers like businesses, galleries, and grantmakers see your vision and potential for future shows. 

Collaborate with Others

Organizing a pop-up is great motivation to partner with other artists, designers, businesses, or brands. Many visual artists and designers work alone and the work can be isolating, making it difficult to collaborate and gain inspiration from other ways of working.  Pop-ups give you an opportunity to collaborate with other creatives who you admire or share your vision by displaying in the same space. And with the joint power of multiple creatives, you can leverage each other’s networks and platforms to promote each other and expand your reach.

Generate Additional Income and Sales

Pop-up shows, at farmer’s markets, fairs and festivals, are a great way to earn extra income by selling your work. It’s also an opportunity to test out a new design or feature of your work that considering. Given all the reasons why a pop-up may be the right next step to take in your career, it’s time to start figuring out the details to make it happen.

While pop-ups appear spontaneously to the public, they require careful strategic planning to execute successfully. Conducting market research about other pop-ups that have been successful, or ones that have already taken place in your location of choice is critical to understand what you’re getting into and what you need to be prepared for. Whether that’s the finding the right time of year to hold a pop-up shop or show, the best neighborhood to hold it in, or the right market or fair to participate, go where the potential buyers are.

A good example of going where the buyers are to set up a pop-up is the Artstream Nomadic Gallery which sells handmade ceramics across the country. the traveling pop-up makes stops at conferences and other events, where thousands of attendees interested in the art form will be.

artist pop up gallery
The Artstream Nomadic Gallery at the NCECA Conference takes the pop-up store concept on the road where buyers are.

Pop-Up Planning

While pop-up shows and shops are short-term, planning them is a long-term project. You need to organize a successful pop-up with a clear goal, budget, and ways to make your goals happen. 

  1. Define the purpose of your pop-up.  Is it to promote your art and yourself, share a special vision, make extra income, try out a new art form or product line, or make connections? Don’t just do it because everyone else is doing one. 
  2. Create a budget. How much money are you willing to invest? How much do you plan to spend?  How much money do you hope to gain?  Asking these questions will help you determine how much you’ll need to raise to fill the gap. 
  3. Create a fundraising plan. How will you raise money from sources other than your own to fund your pop-up? This could mean determining the ticket price (if any), raising cash donations from friends and fans you can gather through Kickstarter or Patreon, or in-kind donations from caterers and venue owners. Pricing your work for sale is also important to bring in revenue.

Finding a Pop-Up Venue or Sponsor

Organizing a pop-up is all about partnership development. While you’re trying to get an affordable venue to promote your work, always remember to start with what’s in it from a partner’s point of view. How will they benefit from partnering with you? Providing cheaper service and space for you?  There are a lot of mixed-used spaces today, both indoor and outdoor. Look around and see what’s possible from existing events and venues to craft fairs. 

In many big cities like New York and Los Angeles, there are businesses dedicated to organizing pop-up shows for artists and galleries. These often happen in empty, white-cube gallery spaces and mixed-use spaces that are ready to be used for creatives. All you need to do is to pay their fees, and they will recommend staff, caterers, and handle operations. 

However, there are other spaces artists can consider that may have a lower price-tag and a more imaginative space. 

Finding Empty Spaces for Your Pop-Up

Landlords of empty property spaces are often open to pop-up proposals. Since they’re not making any income from the space, any event that may reflect their space in a positive way and attract interest will be good for them. All you need to do is to call up these property owners and make a strong case of why and how your pop-up will benefit them. This could include attracting a particular crowd to their space, beautiful photography showing off the potential of their property space, or simply positioning them as a property owner that cares about local artists and social responsibility. However, keep in mind that unoccupied spaces may not be fully ready for a show, and there may be liability involved, like safety measures, insurance, etc. 

Retail Stores or Small Businesses

Storefront businesses like fashion boutiques and restaurants are great places to organize pop-ups at a low price. These businesses are already operating, and having artworks displayed there will not only attract foot traffic but decorate the space beautifully. You can either propose to the business owner that you’d like to display your art there for a certain amount of time for free, for a small commission they may receive in return, or you can propose to hold a pop-up gallery opening and show after business hours. Fashion boutiques are often closed at night. And since they are paying the rent anyway, may as well make some extra income from hosting your show. 

Homes/Apartments/Artist Studios

Having a pop-up show at an apartment or artist studio may not look as professional as a gallery space, or be able to host as many people, but with the experience-hungry climate we’re in currently, many are seeking unconventional ways to experience art and yours might be it. You can host it at your home or studio if you have space and vision, or you ask a friend or even ask a property manager or developer if they could rent you a show-apartment for one night in return for either a small payment or positive branding. There is always room for partnership and as long as you make a strong case of what’s in it for them.

University and Institutions

Finally, universities and institutions like nonprofits, foundations, churches have plenty of space to spare for the right reasons. Besides lecture halls or art galleries within the institutions, there is always room to have a pop-up show in a classroom, hallway, or even stairway. The only thing is you will need connections to the institution to make your case. Approach a local institution in your area and pitch yourself as a local artist throwing a community event. Many institutions need opportunities for community outreach, and your pop-up event can do just that. You can also bring in new audiences that the institution might not have access to. Either way, your art will benefit others and provide enjoyment too. 

Themes and Curation

Whether you’re doing a solo show or group store, you need to think ahead to determine the theme or curating direction. A well-thought-out show or pop-up shop is what will differentiate you from others and show your audience that you’re a professional creative. 

Marketing Material

Once you’ve decided on a venue and theme, it’s important to market your pop-up show both online and offline. With a low budget, it’s always best to maximize social media as your way to promote. However, don’t underestimate the value of traditional marketing like flyers. In smaller cities and neighborhoods, giving out flyers of your show to customers who frequently walk by the space or leave them at a popular cafe may surprise you by how well they work.  

Events

While a pop-up gallery show does not necessarily need a pop-up opening, having a physical event is a great way to gather momentum. A gallery opening is always a fun way to encourage visitors to engage with you and your art, create a buzz, and encourage sales. For some pop-up shows that have a particular theme may decide to have a talk or panel on the topic. And try to think creatively about how you can collaborate with your space that’s mutually beneficial to you. For example, if you’re having your show at a wine store, the owner of the store can offer samples of their wine during the reception and provide a discount to visitors who sign up for their email list. 

Timing Your Pop-Up

Finally, the timing of your pop-up is very important. Depending on where you are having the pop-up and who you want to target, you may want to have your pop-up during a busy art season to coincide with art events and crowds in your area, but you may end up being overshadowed by them. You may want to have your show during holiday shopping time where your customers are looking for special gifts. You may want to have your panel event about your environmental-themed art during climate week to get buzz. There’s no right or wrong way have a pop-up gallery or shop, it just has to be strategic. 

Have you had a pop-up gallery, store or space before? How did it work out?  What tips do you have or lessons learned that you can share with others? Tell us in the comments section!

About the author

Alexis Yuen

Alexis Yuen is an art advisor, business and branding strategist, art tour docent, activist and former artist. Prior to founding The Art Diplomat, an advisory for good, she worked for the premier art show, Art Basel and the auction house, Christie's.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

From the Artrepreneur Marketplace

Support an Artist

Artrepreneur Creative Careers Podcast

Listen to industry innovators share their experiences, insights and give advice to help you navigate your creative career.

Podcast Podcast Podcast

@artrepreneur_og