fbpx

随着当今艺术家社区的不断壮大和多样化,您不必孤立地创作作品,也不必觉得自己是一个人试图成为一名艺术家。 事实上,你在社区中越开放、慷慨和支持,就越有可能获得能量和机会。 成为一个支持艺术家的公民对于打开潜在合作、展览、 驻场艺术家, 工作,等等。 通过最大化您现有的联系并扩展您的网络以包括艺术家社区,您的下一个指导、教学职位或艺术家合作可能就在眼前 - 或在世界各地。

投资艺术家社区

建立社区的意义远远超出简单地推进自己的事业。 仅仅利用艺术家社区可用的资源和支持是不够的; 我们必须投资于他们。 纽约艺术家说,在不期待任何回报的情况下为社区提供帮助可以创造真正的成长和进步 香农·芬内尔,他拥有工作室艺术与和平研究的双学士学位,以及摄影硕士学位。 Finnell 的视频和表演作品围绕着支持的概念展开,他认为这是世界上最重要的力量之一。 “当你创建社区时,”她说,“从长远来看,你不可能失败。”

艺术家社区可以从您的社区开始,一直延伸到全球。 无论您是在纽约或洛杉矶等美国主要艺术城市生活和工作的艺术家,还是在小镇或中等城市生活和工作的艺术家,扩展您的人脉网络和超越您的典型范围进行思考都会带来无数好处。 芝加哥艺术家 德里克·伍兹-莫罗 使旅行成为他生活的核心部分,使他能够与世界各地的不同艺术家和公民建立联系。

完成研究生学位后,Woods-Morrow 前往南非、法国、英国和整个美国南部,开展工作并更好地了解世界各地人们的生活方式。 艺术家社区数量庞大,对伍兹-莫罗作为艺术家的实践以及他的心理健康至关重要。 他说:“凭着美德,一个集体社区总是比你预期的要多或少,同时。 每当有机会参与某事时,请记住还有谁参与其中,支持他们,让他们以有趣的方式支持你。”

Woods-Morrow 开发了他所谓的“微型社区”,其中包括一群每周在他家聚会的黑人和棕色酷儿朋友,这是一个新成立的有色人种摄影师社区,名为 有关黑色图像制作者,一个由他的旅行建立的全球社区,等等。 这些艺术家社区重叠,这种对不同社区的深入理解帮助他开拓了广阔的视野。

如何在艺术家社区中建立网络 | 艺术商业杂志

将自己置身于您所在地区的艺术环境中! 如果您无法亲自上路并建立您的全球网络,仍有许多方法可以开始与离家更近的艺术家社区建立联系:

  • 与您已经建立关系的前任讲师、同事和朋友联系。 尝试与母校过去的导师取得联系,甚至是那些你想见但从未有机会的人。 提及他们最近的展览或请他们喝咖啡,或邀请他们参加每月一次的小组聚会。 
  • 通过在线社区和现实生活利用您的校友网络。 几乎每所学院和大学都有一个 LinkedIn 校友群,所以搜索你的。 更好的是,联系你母校的校友办公室,看看你可以如何参与——无论是作为在校学生或其他校友的导师,还是作为寻求联系的受指导者。 您母校的工作人员正在寻找让校友参与、重视并与学生保持联系的方法,您可以成为其中的一员。 这也是结识其他校友的好方法,可以带来合作和更多机会!

参加艺术家聚会

最好的开始方式是使用您现有的网络。 形成批评或加入讨论组。 这是在您所在的地方开始建立强大的互动社区的最佳方式之一,它吸引想要对其工作提供反馈的艺术家。 从几个你信任的重要艺术家朋友开始,创建每个人都会投资的可持续的艺术家社区。让他们每个人邀请一两个他们也信任的艺术家,并从那里发展你的网络。

每月或更多次见面,以批评彼此的工作,讨论您看到或参与的机会,或围绕某个主题进行对话。 纽约创意沙龙,一个全年举办的各种主题的策划小组,在线分享每次会议的录音和笔记,供其他人学习。 虽然它们是仅限邀请的,但这些会议可以作为其他人与朋友举行自己的讨论组的绝佳模式。

艺术家U,一个改变艺术家工作条件的开源​​孵化器,提供他们的课程“让你的生活成为一个艺术家”免费下载,这样艺术家们就可以组建自己的团队,并按照步骤帮助他们设定和实现自己的职业目标。 艺术家社区可以在网上和亲自找到一样容易,并且通过从各种网络中汲取经验,您可以扩大您的专业范围。 

在线加入艺术家社区

如何在艺术家社区中建立网络 | 艺术商业杂志

继续 @abstract.mag Instagram 让自己沉浸在社区中!

在全球范围内快速扩展网络的最简单方法是通过社交媒体和在线渠道。 通过一些研究,艺术家可以在多个方向上找到与其兴趣相关的在线社区。 Instagram 已迅速成为寻找其他感兴趣的人并制作您感兴趣的作品的最佳场所,无论是针对特定主题还是使用某种媒介。 Instagram 帐户 @abstract.mag 专注于抽象艺术。 这是提交作品、评论以及与此类内容的策展人、艺术家和欣赏者联系的好地方。

高射炮照片 是摄影师的在线资源,拥有对任何人开放的高度支持的 Instagram 和 Facebook 帐户。 这两个渠道都允许对摄影进行支持和积极的讨论,并提供了一种建立社区和了解媒体最新信息的好方法。 您可以开始与来自世界各地的人进行对话,然后将这些对话离线扩展到更大的联系。 

与他人一起做艺术

艺术家驻留项目是结识世界各地艺术家和艺术支持者的最有效方式之一,同时还能促进您的工作,并且提供的艺术家驻留项目类型一直在扩大。 艺术家可以在世界上几乎任何国家获得驻地,甚至几乎可以在任何时间段内获得驻地——甚至艺术家可以带着他们的孩子在驻地。 有了这些新的参与方式,建立社区比以往任何时候都容易。

组织如 艺术家社区联盟 通过驻留和求职目录、技巧和工具、活动和演讲者系列等为艺术家提供资源。 艺人是一家总部位于阿姆斯特丹的组织,提供免费的居住目录,重点关注欧洲和亚洲的机会。 无论您的居住地在哪里,通过当地艺术社区建立终身关系的可能性都是一个很好的收获。

无论你如何建立你的艺术家社区——无论是在线的还是面对面的,其影响都远远超出了你自己的实践。 社区和支持结构是我们如何改善我们生活的世界并履行我们作为真正公民艺术家的角色的方式。

在下面的评论中分享您对您的实践如何开辟与更广泛的艺术家社区联系并寻求新机会的新途径的见解!

安娜·奥吉尔-布卢默
安娜·奥吉尔-布卢默

Anna Ogier-Bloomer 是一位美术摄影师。 她曾在视觉艺术学院 MFA 项目的研究生教职工作,并曾担任纽约城市大学摄影系的兼职副教授。 她拥有帕森斯大学的摄影硕士学位、SVA 的数码摄影硕士学位和美术博物馆学院的学士学位。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

artist communities
Artist communities can be local or global.
Networking Promotion Studio

How to Network in Artist Communities

With today’s growing and diverse array of artist communities, you don’t have to create work in isolation or feel like you’re going it alone trying to make it as an artist. In fact, the more open, generous, and supportive you are in your community, the more likely that energy and opportunity will follow. Being a supportive artist citizen is critical to opening up doors to potential collaborations, exhibitions, artist-in-residencies, jobs and more. By maximizing your existing connections and expanding your network to include artist communities, your next mentorship, teaching position or artist collaboration may be right around the corner – or around the world.

Invest in Artist Communities

The significance of building community goes far beyond simply furthering one’s own career. It’s not enough to just take advantage of resources and support available to artist communities; we must invest in them. Giving to a community without expecting anything in return can create real growth and progress, says New York-based artist Shannon Finnell, who holds a dual BA in studio art and peace studies, as well as an MFA in photography. Finnell, whose video and performance work revolves around the concept of support, believes it is one of the most important forces in the world. “When you create community,” she says, “there’s no way you can fail in the long run.”

Artist communities can start in your neighborhood and reach all the way around the globe. Whether you’re an artist living and working in a major U.S. art city, like New York or Los Angeles, or in a small town or mid-sized city, there are countless benefits to expanding your network and thinking beyond your typical purview. Chicago-based artist Derrick Woods-Morrow has made travel a central part of his life, allowing him to connect with diverse artists and citizens around the world.

Since finishing his graduate degree, Woods-Morrow has traveled to South Africa, France, the United Kingdom, and throughout the American South, making work and gaining a better understanding of the ways people live around the world. Artist communities are numerous, vast, and critical to Woods-Morrow’s practice as an artist, as well as his mental health. He says, “By virtue, a collective community is always more and less than you expect, simultaneously. Whenever given the opportunity to be a part of something, remember who else was a part of it, support them and let them support you in interesting ways.”

Woods-Morrow has developed what he calls “micro-communities,” including a group of black and brown queer-identifying friends who convene weekly at his home, a newly-formed community of engaged photographers of color called Concerned Black Image Makers, a global community built from his travels, and more. These artist communities overlap, and this expanded understanding of diverse communities has helped him develop a broad perspective.

If you’re not able to hit the road and build your global network in person, there are still many ways to start creating connections to artist communities closer to home:

  • Connect with former instructors, colleagues and friends with whom you’ve already established relationships. Try getting in touch with past instructors from your alma mater, or even those you wanted to meet but never had the chance. Mention their recent exhibition or ask them to coffee, or invite them to participate in a monthly group meet-up. 
  • Tap into your alumni networks through online communities and in real life. Almost every college and university has a LinkedIn alumni group, so search for yours. Better yet, reach out to your alma mater’s alumni office and see how you can get involved — whether as a mentor to current students or other alumni or as a mentee seeking someone to connect with. The staff at your alma mater are looking for ways to keep alumni engaged, valued, and connected to students, and you can be a part of that. It’s also a great way to meet other alumni, which can lead to collaborations and more opportunities!

Participate in Artist Gatherings

The best way to start is with your existing network. Form a critique or join a discussion group. It’s one of the best ways to start building a strong, interactive community right where you are and it engages artists who want feedback on their work. Start with a few key artist friends you trust to create sustainable artist communities that everyone will be invested in. Ask each of them to invite one or two artists they also trust, and grow your network from there.

Meet monthly, or more, to critique each other’s work, discuss opportunities you’ve seen or participated in, or hold a conversation around a certain theme. NY Creative Salon, a curated group held throughout the year with various themes, shares recordings and notes from each meeting online for others to learn from. Although they are invitation-only, the meetings can serve as an excellent model for others to hold their own discussion groups with friends.

ArtistsU, an open-source incubator for changing the working conditions of artists, offers their curriculum “Making Your Life As An Artist” for free download so artists can assemble their own group and follow the steps to help them set and achieve their professional goals. Artist communities can be found just as readily online as in person, and by drawing from a variety of networks you can expand your professional reach. 

Join Artist Communities Online

The easiest way to expand your network globally, and quickly, is through social media and online channels. With a little bit of research, an artist can find online communities that relate to their interests in a number of directions. Instagram has quickly become the best place to find others interested in and making work that interests you, whether it be on a particular subject or using a certain medium. The Instagram account @abstract.mag focuses on abstract art. It’s a great place to submit work, comment, and connect with curators, artists, and appreciators of this type of content.

Flak Photo is an online resource for photographers, with highly supportive Instagram and Facebook accounts that are open to anyone. Both channels allow for supportive and positive discourse on photography and offer a great way into building community and staying up to date on the medium.  You can begin conversations with folks from around the world and then expand those conversations offline to greater connections. 

Make Art with Others

Artist residencies are one of the most powerful ways to meet artists and arts supporters around the world while also furthering your work, and the types of artist residencies offered are expanding all the time. Artists can secure residencies in nearly any country in the world or even virtually, for any duration of time — there are even residencies in which artists may bring their children. With these new ways to participate, it’s easier than ever to build your community.

Organizations like the Alliance of Artist Communities provide resources to artists through residency and job search directories, tips and tools, events and speaker series, and more. ResArtis, an organization based in Amsterdam, offers a free residency directory with a focus on opportunities in Europe and Asia. No matter where your residency takes place, the possibility of building lifelong relationships via local artistic communities is a great takeaway.

artist communities
Be part of supportive artist communities at a craft school or artist residency.

No matter how you build your artist community — whether online, in person, the impact reaches far beyond your own practice. Community and support structures are how we better the world in which we live and fulfill our roles as true citizen artists.

Share your insights on how your practice has opened up new avenues to connect with wider artist communities and pursue new opportunities in the comments below!

About the author

Anna Ogier-Bloomer

Anna Ogier-Bloomer is a fine art photographer. She has served on the graduate faculty in the School of Visual Arts MFA Program and has been an adjunct Associate Professor of Photography at The City University of New York. She holds an MFA in Photography from Parsons, an MPS in Digital Photography from SVA, and a BFA from The School of the Museum of Fine Arts.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

From the Artrepreneur Marketplace

Support an Artist

Artrepreneur Creative Careers Podcast

Listen to industry innovators share their experiences, insights and give advice to help you navigate your creative career.

Podcast Podcast Podcast

@artrepreneur_og