fbpx

مع وجود مجموعة متنوعة ومتنامية من مجتمعات الفنانين اليوم ، لا يتعين عليك إنشاء عمل بمعزل عن الآخرين أو الشعور وكأنك تعمل بمفردك وتحاول أن تجعله فنانًا. في الواقع ، كلما كنت أكثر انفتاحًا وكرمًا وداعمة في مجتمعك ، زادت احتمالية ظهور الطاقة والفرص. كونك فنانًا داعمًا هو أمر بالغ الأهمية لفتح الأبواب أمام التعاون المحتمل والمعارض ، فنان مقيم ، وظائف والمزيد. من خلال زيادة اتصالاتك الحالية إلى الحد الأقصى وتوسيع شبكتك لتشمل مجتمعات الفنانين ، قد يكون إرشادك التالي ، أو منصب التدريس ، أو التعاون الفني قاب قوسين أو أدنى - أو في جميع أنحاء العالم.

استثمر في مجتمعات الفنانين

تتجاوز أهمية بناء المجتمع مجرد تعزيز حياة الفرد المهنية. لا يكفي مجرد الاستفادة من الموارد والدعم المتاح لمجتمعات الفنانين ؛ يجب أن نستثمر فيها. يقول الفنان المقيم في نيويورك إن إعطاء المجتمع دون توقع أي شيء في المقابل يمكن أن يخلق نموًا وتقدمًا حقيقيين شانون فينيل، حاصلة على بكالوريوس مزدوجة في فنون الاستوديو ودراسات السلام ، بالإضافة إلى ماجستير في التصوير الفوتوغرافي. يعتقد فينيل ، الذي يدور عمله في الفيديو والأداء حول مفهوم الدعم ، أنه أحد أهم القوى في العالم. تقول: "عندما تنشئ مجتمعًا ، لا توجد طريقة يمكنك من خلالها الفشل على المدى الطويل."

يمكن لمجتمعات الفنانين البدء في منطقتك والوصول إلى جميع أنحاء العالم. سواء كنت فنانًا تعيش وتعمل في مدينة فنية أمريكية كبرى ، مثل نيويورك أو لوس أنجلوس ، أو في بلدة صغيرة أو مدينة متوسطة الحجم ، فهناك فوائد لا حصر لها لتوسيع شبكتك والتفكير خارج نطاق اختصاصك المعتاد. فنان مقيم في شيكاغو ديريك وودز مورو جعل السفر جزءًا أساسيًا من حياته ، مما سمح له بالتواصل مع فنانين ومواطنين متنوعين في جميع أنحاء العالم.

منذ الانتهاء من دراسته الجامعية ، سافر وودز مورو إلى جنوب إفريقيا وفرنسا والمملكة المتحدة وجميع أنحاء الجنوب الأمريكي ، حيث عمل واكتسب فهمًا أفضل للطرق التي يعيش بها الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم. مجتمعات الفنانين عديدة وواسعة وحاسمة لممارسة وودز مورو كفنان ، بالإضافة إلى صحته العقلية. يقول ، "بحكم الفضيلة ، يكون المجتمع الجماعي دائمًا أكثر وأقل مما تتوقع ، في وقت واحد. كلما أتيحت لك الفرصة لتكون جزءًا من شيء ما ، تذكر من كان جزءًا منه ، وادعمهم ودعهم يدعمونك بطرق شيقة ".

طور وودز مورو ما يسميه "المجتمعات الصغيرة" ، بما في ذلك مجموعة من الأصدقاء ذوي البشرة السمراء والسوداء الذين يعرفون هوية المثليين الذين يجتمعون أسبوعيًا في منزله ، وهو مجتمع تم تشكيله حديثًا من المصورين الملونين المشاركين صناع الصور السوداء المعنيين، مجتمع عالمي مبني من أسفاره ، والمزيد. تتداخل مجتمعات الفنانين هذه ، وقد ساعده هذا الفهم الموسع للمجتمعات المتنوعة على تطوير منظور واسع.

كيفية التواصل في مجتمعات الفنانين | مجلة الأعمال الفنية

ضع نفسك في بيئات فنية في منطقتك! إذا لم تكن قادرًا على الوصول إلى الطريق وبناء شبكتك العالمية شخصيًا ، فلا يزال هناك العديد من الطرق لبدء إنشاء اتصالات بمجتمعات الفنانين الأقرب إلى المنزل:

  • تواصل مع المدربين السابقين والزملاء والأصدقاء الذين أنشأت معهم علاقات بالفعل. حاول التواصل مع المدربين السابقين من جامعتك ، أو حتى أولئك الذين كنت ترغب في مقابلتهم ولكن لم تسنح لك الفرصة أبدًا. اذكر معرضهم الأخير أو اطلب منهم تناول القهوة ، أو ادعهم للمشاركة في لقاء جماعي شهري. 
  • استفد من شبكات الخريجين من خلال المجتمعات عبر الإنترنت وفي الحياة الواقعية. تحتوي كل كلية وجامعة تقريبًا على مجموعة خريجي LinkedIn ، لذا ابحث عن مجموعتك. والأفضل من ذلك ، تواصل مع مكتب خريجي جامعتك وشاهد كيف يمكنك المشاركة - سواء كنت مرشدًا للطلاب الحاليين أو خريجين آخرين أو كمتدرب يبحث عن شخص ما للتواصل معه. يبحث الموظفون في جامعتك عن طرق للحفاظ على مشاركة الخريجين وتقديرهم وتواصلهم مع الطلاب ، ويمكنك أن تكون جزءًا من ذلك. إنها أيضًا طريقة رائعة لمقابلة الخريجين الآخرين ، مما قد يؤدي إلى التعاون والمزيد من الفرص!

شارك في لقاءات الفنانين

أفضل طريقة للبدء هي من خلال شبكتك الحالية. شكل نقدًا أو انضم إلى مجموعة مناقشة. إنها واحدة من أفضل الطرق لبدء بناء مجتمع قوي وتفاعلي في مكانك تمامًا وتشرك الفنانين الذين يرغبون في الحصول على تعليقات على أعمالهم. ابدأ بعدد قليل من أصدقاء الفنانين الرئيسيين الذين تثق بهم لإنشاء مجتمعات فنانين مستدامة يستثمر فيها الجميع. اطلب من كل منهم دعوة فنان أو اثنين يثقون به أيضًا ، وتنمية شبكتك من هناك.

التقاء شهريًا ، أو أكثر ، لنقد عمل بعضكما البعض ، أو مناقشة الفرص التي رأيتها أو شاركت فيها ، أو إجراء محادثة حول موضوع معين. صالون نيويورك الإبداعي، وهي مجموعة منسقة تعقد على مدار العام مع مواضيع مختلفة ، وتشارك التسجيلات والملاحظات من كل اجتماع عبر الإنترنت ليتعلم منها الآخرون. على الرغم من أنها مخصصة للمدعوين فقط ، يمكن أن تكون الاجتماعات بمثابة نموذج ممتاز للآخرين لعقد مجموعات المناقشة الخاصة بهم مع الأصدقاء.

الفنانين، حاضنة مفتوحة المصدر لتغيير ظروف عمل الفنانين ، تقدم مناهجهم "جعل حياتك كفنان" للتنزيل المجاني حتى يتمكن الفنانون من تجميع مجموعاتهم الخاصة واتباع الخطوات لمساعدتهم على تحديد أهدافهم المهنية وتحقيقها. يمكن العثور على مجتمعات الفنانين بسهولة عبر الإنترنت كما يمكن العثور عليها شخصيًا ، ومن خلال الاعتماد على مجموعة متنوعة من الشبكات ، يمكنك توسيع نطاق وصولك المهني. 

انضم إلى مجتمعات الفنانين عبر الإنترنت

كيفية التواصل في مجتمعات الفنانين | مجلة الأعمال الفنية

اتبع @ abstract.mag Instagram لتغمر نفسك في المجتمع!

أسهل طريقة لتوسيع شبكتك عالميًا وبسرعة هي من خلال وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والقنوات عبر الإنترنت. مع القليل من البحث ، يمكن للفنان أن يجد مجتمعات عبر الإنترنت تتعلق باهتماماته في عدد من الاتجاهات. سرعان ما أصبح Instagram أفضل مكان للعثور على الآخرين المهتمين والقيام بعمل يثير اهتمامك ، سواء كان ذلك في موضوع معين أو باستخدام وسيط معين. حساب Instagram @ abstract.mag يركز على الفن التجريدي. إنه مكان رائع لتقديم العمل والتعليق والتواصل مع القيمين والفنانين والمقدرين لهذا النوع من المحتوى.

صور فلاك هو مورد عبر الإنترنت للمصورين ، مع وجود حسابات Instagram و Facebook داعمة للغاية ومفتوحة لأي شخص. تسمح كلتا القناتين بخطاب داعم وإيجابي حول التصوير الفوتوغرافي وتوفران طريقة رائعة لبناء المجتمع والبقاء على اطلاع على الوسيلة. يمكنك بدء محادثات مع أشخاص من جميع أنحاء العالم ثم توسيع تلك المحادثات دون اتصال بالإنترنت لتوسيع نطاق الاتصالات. 

اصنع الفن مع الآخرين

تعتبر الإقامات الفنية من أقوى الطرق لمقابلة الفنانين وأنصار الفنون في جميع أنحاء العالم مع تعزيز عملك أيضًا ، وتتوسع أنواع إقامات الفنانين المعروضة طوال الوقت. يمكن للفنانين تأمين إقامات في أي بلد تقريبًا في العالم أو حتى تقريبًا ، لأي مدة زمنية - حتى أن هناك إقامات يمكن للفنانين إحضار أطفالهم فيها. بهذه الطرق الجديدة للمشاركة ، أصبح بناء مجتمعك أسهل من أي وقت مضى.

منظمات مثل تحالف مجتمعات الفنانين توفير الموارد للفنانين من خلال أدلة الإقامة والبحث عن الوظائف والنصائح والأدوات والأحداث وسلسلة المتحدثين والمزيد. رسارتيس، وهي منظمة مقرها أمستردام ، تقدم دليل إقامة مجاني مع التركيز على الفرص في أوروبا وآسيا. بغض النظر عن مكان إقامتك ، فإن إمكانية بناء علاقات مدى الحياة عبر المجتمعات الفنية المحلية هي فكرة رائعة.

بغض النظر عن كيفية بناء مجتمع الفنانين الخاص بك - سواء عبر الإنترنت أو شخصيًا ، فإن التأثير يتجاوز بكثير ممارستك الخاصة. الهياكل المجتمعية والدعم هي الطريقة التي نحسن بها العالم الذي نعيش فيه ونؤدي أدوارنا كفنانين مواطنين حقيقيين.

شارك بأفكارك حول كيف فتحت ممارستك طرقًا جديدة للتواصل مع مجتمعات الفنانين الأوسع واغتنام الفرص الجديدة في التعليقات أدناه!

آنا أوجير بلومر
آنا أوجير بلومر

آنا أوجير بلومر هي مصورة فوتوغرافية للفنون الجميلة. عملت في هيئة التدريس في كلية الفنون البصرية لبرنامج الماجستير في الفنون الجميلة ، وكانت أستاذًا مساعدًا في التصوير الفوتوغرافي في جامعة مدينة نيويورك. وهي حاصلة على ماجستير في التصوير الفوتوغرافي من بارسونز ، ودرجة الماجستير في التصوير الرقمي من SVA ، ودرجة البكالوريوس في الفنون الجميلة من مدرسة متحف الفنون الجميلة.

تواصلوا معنا

العنوان: برامج المنح 1145 17th Street NW
هاتف: 888-557-4450
البريد: [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]
الدعم: إنجوتيم

انضم إلينا

اشترك في النشرة الإخبارية لدينا لتلقي التحديثات.

artist communities
Artist communities can be local or global.
Networking Promotion Studio

How to Network in Artist Communities

With today’s growing and diverse array of artist communities, you don’t have to create work in isolation or feel like you’re going it alone trying to make it as an artist. In fact, the more open, generous, and supportive you are in your community, the more likely that energy and opportunity will follow. Being a supportive artist citizen is critical to opening up doors to potential collaborations, exhibitions, artist-in-residencies, jobs and more. By maximizing your existing connections and expanding your network to include artist communities, your next mentorship, teaching position or artist collaboration may be right around the corner – or around the world.

Invest in Artist Communities

The significance of building community goes far beyond simply furthering one’s own career. It’s not enough to just take advantage of resources and support available to artist communities; we must invest in them. Giving to a community without expecting anything in return can create real growth and progress, says New York-based artist Shannon Finnell, who holds a dual BA in studio art and peace studies, as well as an MFA in photography. Finnell, whose video and performance work revolves around the concept of support, believes it is one of the most important forces in the world. “When you create community,” she says, “there’s no way you can fail in the long run.”

Artist communities can start in your neighborhood and reach all the way around the globe. Whether you’re an artist living and working in a major U.S. art city, like New York or Los Angeles, or in a small town or mid-sized city, there are countless benefits to expanding your network and thinking beyond your typical purview. Chicago-based artist Derrick Woods-Morrow has made travel a central part of his life, allowing him to connect with diverse artists and citizens around the world.

Since finishing his graduate degree, Woods-Morrow has traveled to South Africa, France, the United Kingdom, and throughout the American South, making work and gaining a better understanding of the ways people live around the world. Artist communities are numerous, vast, and critical to Woods-Morrow’s practice as an artist, as well as his mental health. He says, “By virtue, a collective community is always more and less than you expect, simultaneously. Whenever given the opportunity to be a part of something, remember who else was a part of it, support them and let them support you in interesting ways.”

Woods-Morrow has developed what he calls “micro-communities,” including a group of black and brown queer-identifying friends who convene weekly at his home, a newly-formed community of engaged photographers of color called Concerned Black Image Makers, a global community built from his travels, and more. These artist communities overlap, and this expanded understanding of diverse communities has helped him develop a broad perspective.

If you’re not able to hit the road and build your global network in person, there are still many ways to start creating connections to artist communities closer to home:

  • Connect with former instructors, colleagues and friends with whom you’ve already established relationships. Try getting in touch with past instructors from your alma mater, or even those you wanted to meet but never had the chance. Mention their recent exhibition or ask them to coffee, or invite them to participate in a monthly group meet-up. 
  • Tap into your alumni networks through online communities and in real life. Almost every college and university has a LinkedIn alumni group, so search for yours. Better yet, reach out to your alma mater’s alumni office and see how you can get involved — whether as a mentor to current students or other alumni or as a mentee seeking someone to connect with. The staff at your alma mater are looking for ways to keep alumni engaged, valued, and connected to students, and you can be a part of that. It’s also a great way to meet other alumni, which can lead to collaborations and more opportunities!

Participate in Artist Gatherings

The best way to start is with your existing network. Form a critique or join a discussion group. It’s one of the best ways to start building a strong, interactive community right where you are and it engages artists who want feedback on their work. Start with a few key artist friends you trust to create sustainable artist communities that everyone will be invested in. Ask each of them to invite one or two artists they also trust, and grow your network from there.

Meet monthly, or more, to critique each other’s work, discuss opportunities you’ve seen or participated in, or hold a conversation around a certain theme. NY Creative Salon, a curated group held throughout the year with various themes, shares recordings and notes from each meeting online for others to learn from. Although they are invitation-only, the meetings can serve as an excellent model for others to hold their own discussion groups with friends.

ArtistsU, an open-source incubator for changing the working conditions of artists, offers their curriculum “Making Your Life As An Artist” for free download so artists can assemble their own group and follow the steps to help them set and achieve their professional goals. Artist communities can be found just as readily online as in person, and by drawing from a variety of networks you can expand your professional reach. 

Join Artist Communities Online

The easiest way to expand your network globally, and quickly, is through social media and online channels. With a little bit of research, an artist can find online communities that relate to their interests in a number of directions. Instagram has quickly become the best place to find others interested in and making work that interests you, whether it be on a particular subject or using a certain medium. The Instagram account @abstract.mag focuses on abstract art. It’s a great place to submit work, comment, and connect with curators, artists, and appreciators of this type of content.

Flak Photo is an online resource for photographers, with highly supportive Instagram and Facebook accounts that are open to anyone. Both channels allow for supportive and positive discourse on photography and offer a great way into building community and staying up to date on the medium.  You can begin conversations with folks from around the world and then expand those conversations offline to greater connections. 

Make Art with Others

Artist residencies are one of the most powerful ways to meet artists and arts supporters around the world while also furthering your work, and the types of artist residencies offered are expanding all the time. Artists can secure residencies in nearly any country in the world or even virtually, for any duration of time — there are even residencies in which artists may bring their children. With these new ways to participate, it’s easier than ever to build your community.

Organizations like the Alliance of Artist Communities provide resources to artists through residency and job search directories, tips and tools, events and speaker series, and more. ResArtis, an organization based in Amsterdam, offers a free residency directory with a focus on opportunities in Europe and Asia. No matter where your residency takes place, the possibility of building lifelong relationships via local artistic communities is a great takeaway.

artist communities
Be part of supportive artist communities at a craft school or artist residency.

No matter how you build your artist community — whether online, in person, the impact reaches far beyond your own practice. Community and support structures are how we better the world in which we live and fulfill our roles as true citizen artists.

Share your insights on how your practice has opened up new avenues to connect with wider artist communities and pursue new opportunities in the comments below!

About the author

Anna Ogier-Bloomer

Anna Ogier-Bloomer is a fine art photographer. She has served on the graduate faculty in the School of Visual Arts MFA Program and has been an adjunct Associate Professor of Photography at The City University of New York. She holds an MFA in Photography from Parsons, an MPS in Digital Photography from SVA, and a BFA from The School of the Museum of Fine Arts.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

From the Artrepreneur Marketplace

Support an Artist

Artrepreneur Creative Careers Podcast

Listen to industry innovators share their experiences, insights and give advice to help you navigate your creative career.

Podcast Podcast Podcast

@artrepreneur_og