对于没有经验的艺术家来说,格兰特写作可能会令人生畏。 要钱来支持项目是有压力的,尤其是考虑到成千上万的其他创意人员正在为他们的项目争夺相同的资金这一现实。 不要绝望! 深呼吸并安顿下来,记下我们关于如何编写有效、引人注目的拨款申请的重要提示。

当资助写作时,做你的功课

这听起来很明显,但许多拨款提案被拒绝,因为他们没有阅读和遵守拨款要求。 不要落入这个简单的陷阱! 特别是如果您正在提交复杂的申请,请仔细梳理详细信息以帮助您查看您是否遵循所有说明并且没有错过截止日期

首先,了解资助组织的使命至关重要。 所有资助组织和基金会都有一份使命声明,通常发布在他们的网站上。 此外,大多数组织将拥有有关其活动范围、计划和项目的信息。 适当地梳理和调整您的语言与使命和指导方针。 一个快速提示:在您全力以赴编写赠款提案之前,查看过去的接受者名单是确定您的项目是否适合他们的资助优先级的最佳方法之一。 

新兴艺术家的有效资助写作 | 艺术商业杂志

对所有可用的赠款进行研究 learngrantwriting.org!

构成艺术家资助提案的常见元素包括 艺术家声明,以 项目说明,以 作品集和/或工作样本和一个 预算. 需要注意的是,在所有这些中,预算通常是最重要的因素。 您的预算将向委员会表明您是否对项目范围有一个现实的把握。 例如,如果项目需要特殊材料或制造,提前收到项目这些方面的报价将有助于论证您的案例。 虽然新兴艺术家通常可以期望获得比成熟艺术家更少的资金,但如果请求的资金不足以满足项目要求,要求太少也可能是一个危险信号。

最后,请确保您保存了赠款提案中提交的所有材料。 保持良好的记录还有助于提醒您编写有效的赠款提案是一个过程。 随着时间的推移,您可以重新审视旧的拨款提案并借用相关语言,同时还可以观察您的申请有多少改进。

玩长期游戏

作为一名新兴艺术家,你可能充满潜力,但你还没有证明这一点。 在这个阶段,很容易低估自己。 信心是掌握资助撰写过程的关键,但同时,请务必进行修改,并在可能的情况下向更有经验的资助撰写者寻求建议! 对您的技能组合有一个现实而积极的看法。 正如西蒙·罗迪亚 (Simon Rodia) 在 1961 年的访客手册中所说, 瓦茨塔,“你必须是好是坏才能被记住。” 罗迪亚本人并没有寻求资助来开始他不朽的公共工作:他只是出去做了。 以勇气和决心处理您的拨款申请,您就可以很好地掌握成功撰写拨款所需的技能。

并不是每一个机会都会带你走上正确的道路。 资助优先事项会发生变化,遴选委员会也是如此。 许多艺术家会年复一年地申请同一个组织,所以请保持头脑清醒并进行长期的比赛。 相信你的直觉并忠于自己。

不断改进您的赠款提案

 从事艺术家的职业需要很多软技能: 使您能够在专业上互动并取得成功的个人属性。 对于艺术家来说,这些技能可以千差万别。 C好奇心和韧性是艺术家的关键软技能。 请记住,到达目的地的途径不止一条,在“销售”您的艺术项目时,您无需将自己与他人进行比较以利用自己的优势。 相反,努力通过您独特的声音传达您在艺术创作中融入的独特方面。 

撰写令人兴奋的资助提案是一项需要时间掌握的艰巨技能。 如果提交您的第一个赠款提案令人生畏,请尝试从冷静的方法开始。 尽可能多地在页面上表达您的个性和练习。 格兰特写作是一种特殊的写作形式,但它不必特别学术。 资助委员会对艺术家表示同情; 最重要的是,他们想了解您来自哪里以及您试图通过您的工作传达什么。 如果您过于冗长或含糊不清,此消息可能会丢失。 威廉·辛瑟 (William Zinsser) 的经典非小说类著作, 写得好, 如果需要,可以帮助您提高写作技巧。

当资助写作时认识你自己

了解你的做法 在撰写赠款提案时很好。 专注并适应使您的艺术方法与众不同的原因,并了解您与您所从事的艺术传统的关系。 独一无二是一个悖论。 虽然我们确实都是独一无二的,但我们可能会过于专注于表达我们独特的观点。 遵循格言,“秀而不说”。 告诉某人你是独一无二的与在你的资助申请中展示它不同。 作为一名新兴艺术家,你的资助写作的大部分材料应该来自探索你早期经历的细节,例如在你的艺术中扮演关键因素的生活经历,确定导师或影响,以及描述制作过程中涉及的技术过程。你的工作。 尝试使这些信息尽可能具体。 远离一般概念。 讲述你真正独一无二的背后的故事。

问问题

拨款经理,或组织申请提交过程的组织者,深刻理解拨款如何代表组织的使命。 一些赠款会专门列出联系人,但如果没有,您可以通过联系组织找到此人。 如果您不清楚赠款申请的某些部分,请随时联系赠款经理。 确保你提前准备好你的问题。

大多数赠款经理都乐于回答基本问题。 在较小的组织中,他们通常会更进一步。 如果资助经理愿意花一些时间与您在一起,那么询问您是否可以运行他们的提案以了解更多关于它是否与当前的资助优先事项相匹配的问题并没有什么坏处。 采取这一额外步骤可以大大提高您的申请机会。

如果您收到通知说您没有获得补助金,请不要犹豫,寻求反馈。 一些组织会记录拨款委员会的意见,并会根据要求提供。 否则,拨款经理可能会给您一些指导。 如果您确实获得了资助并有机会与该组织合作,您仍然应该征求反馈意见。 您可能会询问是什么让您的提案在资助组织中脱颖而出。 

将拨款撰写和提交过程视为对信息的持续探索,而不是生死攸关的情况,这将使您保持冷静和清醒,从长远来看,软技能会增加您成功的机会。

在资助写作时,有没有任何经过验证的真正方法对您有用? 艺术家第一次撰写拨款提案有什么值得注意的技巧吗?

评论如下!

艾琳·西克勒
艾琳·西克勒

Erin Sickler 是一位住在哈德逊河谷的正念和创造力教练。 作为前纽约艺术策展人,她曾与一些世界上最成功的在世艺术家合作,现在撰写有关创作道路上的扩展模式的文章。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

Home | Learn | Effective Grant Writing for Emerging Artists
Learn

Effective Grant Writing for Emerging Artists

Grant writing can be intimidating for the inexperienced artist. Asking for money to support projects is stressful, especially when factoring in the reality that thousands of other creatives are competing for these same funds on their projects. Don’t despair! Take a deep breath and settle in to take notes on our top tips on how to write effective, compelling grant applications.

When Grant Writing, Do Your Homework

grant proposal
Do Your Research When Grant Writing

This may sound obvious, but many grant proposals are rejected because they fail to read and follow the grant requirements. Don’t fall into this simple trap! Especially if you are submitting a complex application, comb over the details to help you to see if you are following all the instructions and not missing a deadline

First, understanding the granting organization’s mission is crucial. All granting organizations and foundations have a mission statement, usually posted on their website. Additionally, most organizations will have information about their scope of activities, plans, and projects. Comb through and align your language with the mission and guidelines appropriately. A quick tip: reviewing a list of past recipients is one of the best ways to determine whether your project is a good fit for their funding priorities before you put all the effort into writing a grant proposal. 

Common elements making up an artist grant proposal includes an artist statement, a project statement, a portfolio and/or work sample and a budget. It’s important to note that of all of these, the budget is usually the most important factor. Your budget will indicate to the committee whether or not if you have a realistic grasp picture of the project scope. For example, if the project requires special materials or fabrication, receiving a quote on these aspects of the project in advance will help argue your case. While emerging artists can generally expect less funding than well-established artists, asking for too little can also be a red flag if funds requested are not sufficient to meet the project requirements.

Finally, make sure you save all materials submitted in the grant proposal. Keeping good records will also help remind you that writing effective grant proposals is a process. Over time, you can revisit older grant proposals and borrow relevant language, while also observing just how much your applications have improved.

Play the Long Game

As an emerging artist, you may be full of potential, but you have yet to prove it. At this stage, it is as easy to under-estimate yourself. Confidence is key to mastering the grant writing process, but at the same time, be sure to revise and ask for advice from more experienced grant writers where possible! Have a realistic, yet positive, view of your skillset. As Simon Rodia said in his 1961 visitors pamphlet for The Watts Towers,” You have to be good-good or bad-bad to be remembered.” Rodia himself did not seek grants to begin his monumental public work: he just went out and did it. Approach your grant applications with grit and determination, and you’re well on your way to mastering the skills needed to succeed at grant writing.

Not every opportunity will take you down the right path. Funding priorities shift and change, as do selection committees. Many artists will apply to the same organization year after year, so keep your head up and play the long game. Trust your intuition and stay true to yourself.

Continually Improve Your Grant Proposals

Grant Writing
Show Your Confidence In Grant Proposals

Having a career as an artist requires a lot of soft skills: personal attributes that enable you to interact and succeed professionally. For artists, these skills can vary widely. Curiosity and resilience are key soft skills for an artist. Remembering that there is more than one path to reach a destination, and you do not need to compare yourself to others to capitalize on your strengths when “selling” your art project. Instead, work on communicating what unique aspects you incorporate into your art-making through your distinct voice. 

Writing mind-blowing grant proposals is a hard skill that takes time to master. If it is daunting to submit your first grant proposal, try to begin with a level-headed approach. Express your personality and your practice on the page as much as you can. Grant writing is a special form of writing, but it doesn’t have to be especially academic. Grant committees are sympathetic to artists; above all, they want to understand where you are coming from and what you are trying to communicate with your work. This message can get lost if you are being too verbose or cryptic. William Zinsser’s classic book of non-fiction writing, On Writing Well, can help you improve your writing skills if needed.

Know Thyself When Grant Writing

Know your practice well when writing a grant proposal. Focus and be attuned to what makes your artistic approach unique, and also to understand your relationship to the artistic traditions you are engaging with. The word tradition is overlooked these days, but referring to tradition is generally how one learns to distinguish good from bad art. Even outsider artists like Henry Darger, an artist who worked as a hospital custodian and was only discovered after his death, studied the visual world around him. In Darger’s case, through his collages, he made an informal record of American visual culture by collecting coloring books, comic strips, food labels, and ads. He had no formal art education but instead learned to faithfully read and re-interpret the images he maintained in his collection. His unique view of the world around him is what caught the eye of art patrons. 

Being unique is a paradox. While it is true we are all unique, we can get too absorbed with expressing our unique viewpoints. You know Follow the adage, “show don’t tell.” Telling someone you are unique is not the same as demonstrating it in your grant application. As an emerging artist, the bulk of your material comprising your grant writing should come from details about exploring your early experiences, such as life experiences that play a key factor on your art, identifying mentors or influences, and describing the technical processes involved in making your work. Try to make this information as specific as possible. Stay away from general concepts. This approach will highlight the story behind what it is that is that really is unique to you.

When Grant Writing, Ask Questions

Grant Writing
Show Your Interest: Ask Questions When Grant Writing

The grant manager, or the person who organizes the application submission process on the organizational side, firmly understands how a grant represents an organization’s mission. Some grants will specifically list a contact, but if not, you can find this person by contacting the organization. If parts of the grant application are unclear to you, do not hesitate to contact the grant manager. Make sure you prepare your questions ahead of time.

Most grant managers are happy to answer basic questions. At smaller organizations, they will often go a step further. If a grant manager is willing to spend some time with you then, it doesn’t hurt to ask if you can run a proposal by them you to learn more about if it matches current funding priorities. Taking this extra step can drastically improve the chances for your application.

If you receive notice that you did do not get the grant, don’t hesitate to ask for feedback. Some organizations keep notes of the grant committee’s comments and will provide them upon request. Otherwise, the grant manager may be able to give you some direction. If you do get the grant, and have the opportunity to work with the organization, you should also still ask for feedback. You might inquire about what made your proposal stand out to the granting organization. 

Viewing the grant writing and submission process as an ongoing quest for information rather than a do-or-die situation will keep you stay calm and clearheaded, soft skills that in the long run enhance your chance for success.

 

Have any tried and true methods that have worked for you when grant writing? Any notable tips for artists writing grant proposals for the first time? Share what you’ve learned in the comments!

Popular Posts

Recent Posts

About the author

Erin Sickler

Erin Sickler is a mindfulness & creativity coach living in the Hudson Valley. A former NY art curator, she has worked with some of the world’s most successful living artists and now writes about expanded modes of being on the creative path.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.