يمكن أن تكون كتابة المنح مخيفة للفنان عديم الخبرة. إن طلب المال لدعم المشاريع أمر مرهق ، خاصة عند الأخذ في الاعتبار حقيقة أن الآلاف من المبدعين الآخرين يتنافسون على هذه الأموال نفسها في مشاريعهم. لا تيأس! خذ نفسًا عميقًا واكتفِ بتدوين الملاحظات حول أهم نصائحنا حول كيفية كتابة طلبات منح فعالة ومقنعة.

عند كتابة المنح ، قم بواجبك

قد يبدو هذا واضحًا ، ولكن يتم رفض العديد من مقترحات المنح لأنها فشلت في قراءة ومتابعة متطلبات المنحة. لا تقع في هذا الفخ البسيط! خاصة إذا كنت تقدم طلبًا معقدًا ، فقم بتمشيط التفاصيل لمساعدتك في معرفة ما إذا كنت تتبع جميع الإرشادات ولا تفوت موعدًا نهائيًا

أولاً ، فهم مهمة المنظمة المانحة أمر بالغ الأهمية. لدى جميع المنظمات والمؤسسات المانحة بيان مهمة ، وعادة ما يتم نشره على موقع الويب الخاص بهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، سيكون لدى معظم المنظمات معلومات حول نطاق أنشطتها وخططها ومشاريعها. قم بتمشيط لغتك ومواءمتها مع المهمة والإرشادات بشكل مناسب. نصيحة سريعة: تعد مراجعة قائمة المستفيدين السابقين واحدة من أفضل الطرق لتحديد ما إذا كان مشروعك مناسبًا لأولويات التمويل الخاصة بهم قبل بذل كل الجهود في كتابة اقتراح المنحة. 

كتابة المنح الفعالة للفنانين الناشئين | مجلة الأعمال الفنية

قم ببحثك عن جميع المنح المتاحة مع learngrantwriting.org!

تتضمن العناصر المشتركة التي يتألف منها اقتراح منحة الفنان ملحق بيان الفنان و / أو بيان المشروع و / أو محفظة و / أو عينة عمل، و ميزانية. من المهم أن نلاحظ أنه من بين كل ذلك ، عادة ما تكون الميزانية هي العامل الأكثر أهمية. ستوضح ميزانيتك للجنة ما إذا كان لديك صورة واقعية عن نطاق المشروع أم لا. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان المشروع يتطلب مواد أو تصنيعًا خاصًا ، فإن تلقي عرض أسعار حول هذه الجوانب من المشروع مقدمًا سيساعدك في مناقشة قضيتك. بينما يمكن للفنانين الناشئين توقع تمويل أقل بشكل عام من الفنانين المعروفين ، فإن طلب القليل جدًا يمكن أن يكون أيضًا علامة حمراء إذا كانت الأموال المطلوبة غير كافية لتلبية متطلبات المشروع.

أخيرًا ، تأكد من حفظ جميع المواد المقدمة في اقتراح المنحة. سيساعدك الاحتفاظ بسجلات جيدة أيضًا على تذكيرك بأن كتابة مقترحات المنح الفعالة هي عملية. بمرور الوقت ، يمكنك إعادة النظر في مقترحات المنح القديمة واستعارة اللغة ذات الصلة ، مع ملاحظة مدى تحسن طلباتك أيضًا.

العب اللعبة الطويلة

كفنان ناشئ ، قد تكون مليئًا بالإمكانيات ، لكن لا يزال عليك إثبات ذلك. في هذه المرحلة ، من السهل التقليل من شأن نفسك. الثقة هي المفتاح لإتقان عملية كتابة المنح ، ولكن في نفس الوقت ، تأكد من المراجعة وطلب المشورة من كتاب المنح الأكثر خبرة حيثما أمكن ذلك! احصل على نظرة واقعية ، ولكن إيجابية ، لمجموعة مهاراتك. كما قال سايمون روديا في كتيب زواره عام 1961 لـ أبراج واتس ، "عليك أن تكون جيدًا أو سيئًا حتى يتم تذكرها ". لم يطلب روديا نفسه منحًا لبدء عمله العام الضخم: لقد خرج للتو وقام بذلك. اقترب من طلبات المنح الخاصة بك بإصرار وتصميم ، وأنت في طريقك لإتقان المهارات اللازمة للنجاح في منح الكتابة.

لن تأخذك كل فرصة في الطريق الصحيح. تتغير أولويات التمويل وتتغير ، وكذلك لجان الاختيار. سيتقدم العديد من الفنانين إلى نفس المؤسسة عامًا بعد عام ، لذا ابق رأسك مرفوعًا والعب اللعبة الطويلة. ثق بحدسك وكن صادقًا مع نفسك.

تحسين مقترحات المنحة الخاصة بك باستمرار

 يتطلب الحصول على مهنة كفنان الكثير من المهارات اللينة: السمات الشخصية التي تمكنك من التفاعل والنجاح باحتراف. بالنسبة للفنانين ، يمكن أن تختلف هذه المهارات على نطاق واسع. جالتبول والمرونة هما من المهارات الناعمة الأساسية للفنان. تذكر أن هناك أكثر من مسار للوصول إلى وجهة ، ولست بحاجة إلى مقارنة نفسك بالآخرين للاستفادة من نقاط قوتك عند "بيع" مشروعك الفني. بدلاً من ذلك ، اعمل على إيصال الجوانب الفريدة التي تدمجها في صنعك الفني من خلال صوتك المميز. 

تعد كتابة مقترحات المنح المذهلة مهارة صعبة تستغرق وقتًا لإتقانها. إذا كان تقديم اقتراح المنحة الأول الخاص بك أمرًا شاقًا ، فحاول أن تبدأ بنهج قائم على المستوى. عبر عن شخصيتك وممارستك على الصفحة بقدر ما تستطيع. تعد كتابة المنح شكلاً خاصًا من الكتابة ، ولكن لا يجب أن تكون أكاديمية بشكل خاص. لجان المنح متعاطفة مع الفنانين. قبل كل شيء ، يريدون أن يفهموا من أين أتيت وما الذي تحاول توصيله بعملك. يمكن أن تضيع هذه الرسالة إذا كنت مطولًا جدًا أو غامضًا. كتاب ويليام زينسر الكلاسيكي عن الكتابة الواقعية ، على الكتابة بشكل جيد، يمكن أن تساعدك على تحسين مهاراتك في الكتابة إذا لزم الأمر.

تعرف على نفسك عند منح الكتابة

تعرف على ممارستك حسنًا عند كتابة اقتراح المنحة. ركز وانغمس مع ما يجعل منهجك الفني فريدًا ، وأيضًا لفهم علاقتك بالتقاليد الفنية التي تتعامل معها. أن تكون فريدًا هو تناقض. في حين أنه من الصحيح أننا جميعًا فريدون ، يمكننا أن ننغمس كثيرًا في التعبير عن وجهات نظرنا الفريدة. اتبع القول المأثور ، "اعرض لا تخبر". إن إخبار شخص ما بأنك فريد لا يختلف عن إثبات ذلك في طلب المنحة الخاص بك. بصفتك فنانًا ناشئًا ، يجب أن يأتي الجزء الأكبر من المواد التي تتألف منها كتابة المنحة من تفاصيل حول استكشاف تجاربك المبكرة ، مثل تجارب الحياة التي تلعب دورًا رئيسيًا في فنك ، وتحديد الموجهين أو المؤثرات ، ووصف العمليات التقنية التي ينطوي عليها صنع انت تعمل. حاول أن تجعل هذه المعلومات محددة قدر الإمكان. ابتعد عن المفاهيم العامة. أخبر القصة وراء ما هو فريد حقًا بالنسبة لك.

الاسئلة الشائعة

مدير المنحة ، أو الشخص الذي ينظم عملية تقديم الطلب على الجانب التنظيمي ، يفهم تمامًا كيف تمثل المنحة مهمة المنظمة. ستدرج بعض المنح جهة اتصال على وجه التحديد ، ولكن إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، يمكنك العثور على هذا الشخص عن طريق الاتصال بالمنظمة. إذا كانت أجزاء من طلب المنحة غير واضحة لك ، فلا تتردد في الاتصال بمدير المنحة. تأكد من تحضير أسئلتك في وقت مبكر.

يسعد معظم مديري المنح بالإجابة على الأسئلة الأساسية. في المؤسسات الأصغر ، غالبًا ما يخطو خطوة إلى الأمام. إذا كان مدير المنحة على استعداد لقضاء بعض الوقت معك ، فلا يضر أن تسأل عما إذا كان يمكنك تشغيل اقتراح بواسطته لمعرفة المزيد حول ما إذا كان يتوافق مع أولويات التمويل الحالية. يمكن أن يؤدي اتخاذ هذه الخطوة الإضافية إلى تحسين فرص تطبيقك بشكل كبير.

إذا تلقيت إشعارًا بأنك لم تحصل على المنحة ، فلا تتردد في طلب التعليقات. تحتفظ بعض المنظمات بملاحظات حول تعليقات لجنة المنح وستقدمها عند الطلب. خلاف ذلك ، قد يكون مدير المنحة قادرًا على إعطائك بعض التوجيهات. إذا حصلت على المنحة وأتيحت لك الفرصة للعمل مع المنظمة ، فلا يزال يتعين عليك أيضًا طلب التعليقات. قد تستفسر عن سبب إبراز اقتراحك لدى المنظمة المانحة. 

إن النظر إلى عملية كتابة المنح وتقديمها على أنها بحث مستمر عن المعلومات بدلاً من موقف "افعل أو تموت" سيبقيك هادئًا وواضح الذهن ، والمهارات اللينة التي تعزز على المدى الطويل فرصتك للنجاح.

هل لديك أي طرق مجربة وحقيقية عملت معك عند منحك الكتابة؟ أي نصائح بارزة للفنانين كتابة مقترحات المنح لأول مرة؟

التعليق أدناه!

ايرين سيكلر
ايرين سيكلر

إيرين سيكلر هي مدربة للعقل والإبداع تعيش في وادي هدسون. عملت كمنسقة فنية سابقة في نيويورك ، مع بعض من أكثر الفنانين الأحياء نجاحًا في العالم وتكتب الآن عن الأساليب الموسعة للعيش في المسار الإبداعي.

تواصلوا معنا

العنوان: برامج المنح 1145 17th Street NW
هاتف: 888-557-4450
البريد: [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]
الدعم: إنجوتيم

انضم إلينا

اشترك في النشرة الإخبارية لدينا لتلقي التحديثات.

Home | Learn | Effective Grant Writing for Emerging Artists
Learn

Effective Grant Writing for Emerging Artists

Grant writing can be intimidating for the inexperienced artist. Asking for money to support projects is stressful, especially when factoring in the reality that thousands of other creatives are competing for these same funds on their projects. Don’t despair! Take a deep breath and settle in to take notes on our top tips on how to write effective, compelling grant applications.

When Grant Writing, Do Your Homework

grant proposal
Do Your Research When Grant Writing

This may sound obvious, but many grant proposals are rejected because they fail to read and follow the grant requirements. Don’t fall into this simple trap! Especially if you are submitting a complex application, comb over the details to help you to see if you are following all the instructions and not missing a deadline

First, understanding the granting organization’s mission is crucial. All granting organizations and foundations have a mission statement, usually posted on their website. Additionally, most organizations will have information about their scope of activities, plans, and projects. Comb through and align your language with the mission and guidelines appropriately. A quick tip: reviewing a list of past recipients is one of the best ways to determine whether your project is a good fit for their funding priorities before you put all the effort into writing a grant proposal. 

Common elements making up an artist grant proposal includes an artist statement, a project statement, a portfolio and/or work sample and a budget. It’s important to note that of all of these, the budget is usually the most important factor. Your budget will indicate to the committee whether or not if you have a realistic grasp picture of the project scope. For example, if the project requires special materials or fabrication, receiving a quote on these aspects of the project in advance will help argue your case. While emerging artists can generally expect less funding than well-established artists, asking for too little can also be a red flag if funds requested are not sufficient to meet the project requirements.

Finally, make sure you save all materials submitted in the grant proposal. Keeping good records will also help remind you that writing effective grant proposals is a process. Over time, you can revisit older grant proposals and borrow relevant language, while also observing just how much your applications have improved.

Play the Long Game

As an emerging artist, you may be full of potential, but you have yet to prove it. At this stage, it is as easy to under-estimate yourself. Confidence is key to mastering the grant writing process, but at the same time, be sure to revise and ask for advice from more experienced grant writers where possible! Have a realistic, yet positive, view of your skillset. As Simon Rodia said in his 1961 visitors pamphlet for The Watts Towers,” You have to be good-good or bad-bad to be remembered.” Rodia himself did not seek grants to begin his monumental public work: he just went out and did it. Approach your grant applications with grit and determination, and you’re well on your way to mastering the skills needed to succeed at grant writing.

Not every opportunity will take you down the right path. Funding priorities shift and change, as do selection committees. Many artists will apply to the same organization year after year, so keep your head up and play the long game. Trust your intuition and stay true to yourself.

Continually Improve Your Grant Proposals

Grant Writing
Show Your Confidence In Grant Proposals

Having a career as an artist requires a lot of soft skills: personal attributes that enable you to interact and succeed professionally. For artists, these skills can vary widely. Curiosity and resilience are key soft skills for an artist. Remembering that there is more than one path to reach a destination, and you do not need to compare yourself to others to capitalize on your strengths when “selling” your art project. Instead, work on communicating what unique aspects you incorporate into your art-making through your distinct voice. 

Writing mind-blowing grant proposals is a hard skill that takes time to master. If it is daunting to submit your first grant proposal, try to begin with a level-headed approach. Express your personality and your practice on the page as much as you can. Grant writing is a special form of writing, but it doesn’t have to be especially academic. Grant committees are sympathetic to artists; above all, they want to understand where you are coming from and what you are trying to communicate with your work. This message can get lost if you are being too verbose or cryptic. William Zinsser’s classic book of non-fiction writing, On Writing Well, can help you improve your writing skills if needed.

Know Thyself When Grant Writing

Know your practice well when writing a grant proposal. Focus and be attuned to what makes your artistic approach unique, and also to understand your relationship to the artistic traditions you are engaging with. The word tradition is overlooked these days, but referring to tradition is generally how one learns to distinguish good from bad art. Even outsider artists like Henry Darger, an artist who worked as a hospital custodian and was only discovered after his death, studied the visual world around him. In Darger’s case, through his collages, he made an informal record of American visual culture by collecting coloring books, comic strips, food labels, and ads. He had no formal art education but instead learned to faithfully read and re-interpret the images he maintained in his collection. His unique view of the world around him is what caught the eye of art patrons. 

Being unique is a paradox. While it is true we are all unique, we can get too absorbed with expressing our unique viewpoints. You know Follow the adage, “show don’t tell.” Telling someone you are unique is not the same as demonstrating it in your grant application. As an emerging artist, the bulk of your material comprising your grant writing should come from details about exploring your early experiences, such as life experiences that play a key factor on your art, identifying mentors or influences, and describing the technical processes involved in making your work. Try to make this information as specific as possible. Stay away from general concepts. This approach will highlight the story behind what it is that is that really is unique to you.

When Grant Writing, Ask Questions

Grant Writing
Show Your Interest: Ask Questions When Grant Writing

The grant manager, or the person who organizes the application submission process on the organizational side, firmly understands how a grant represents an organization’s mission. Some grants will specifically list a contact, but if not, you can find this person by contacting the organization. If parts of the grant application are unclear to you, do not hesitate to contact the grant manager. Make sure you prepare your questions ahead of time.

Most grant managers are happy to answer basic questions. At smaller organizations, they will often go a step further. If a grant manager is willing to spend some time with you then, it doesn’t hurt to ask if you can run a proposal by them you to learn more about if it matches current funding priorities. Taking this extra step can drastically improve the chances for your application.

If you receive notice that you did do not get the grant, don’t hesitate to ask for feedback. Some organizations keep notes of the grant committee’s comments and will provide them upon request. Otherwise, the grant manager may be able to give you some direction. If you do get the grant, and have the opportunity to work with the organization, you should also still ask for feedback. You might inquire about what made your proposal stand out to the granting organization. 

Viewing the grant writing and submission process as an ongoing quest for information rather than a do-or-die situation will keep you stay calm and clearheaded, soft skills that in the long run enhance your chance for success.

 

Have any tried and true methods that have worked for you when grant writing? Any notable tips for artists writing grant proposals for the first time? Share what you’ve learned in the comments!

Popular Posts

Recent Posts

About the author

Erin Sickler

Erin Sickler is a mindfulness & creativity coach living in the Hudson Valley. A former NY art curator, she has worked with some of the world’s most successful living artists and now writes about expanded modes of being on the creative path.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.