fbpx

自由职业者设计师、自雇艺术家和创业者(面对面或在线)越来越有能力成为有创造力的企业家,负责自己的职业生涯,维护自己的核心价值观,并将更多的钱留在自己的口袋里。 要开展创意业务并建立成功的业务,您需要学习并使用所谓的“艺术业务”工具来维持它。 这意味着制定预算、建立品牌、营销您的业务、产品和服务,保护自己免受诉讼,并创造您的作品。 这是很多工作!

我们挑选了当今创意企业家面临的五个最常见的挑战,并提供了一些应对这些挑战的建议。

预算

当今艺术家面临的最明显的问题是他们的下一笔薪水从何而来,以及如何防止最后一笔薪水过快耗尽。 确定开展艺术业务的成本是确保您保持预算和正常运转的重要工具。

第一步 降低预算 是确定艺术创作的实际成本。 你有工作室吗? 您是否会跟踪您购买和消费的任何材料? 您使用它们的频率如何? 你有很多废物吗? 作为一名艺术家企业家意味着你应该确切地知道你花了多少钱来制作和管理你的艺术品。 这是确保您有足够的资金在未来几个月运营业务的关键因素。 了解这些成本还可以让您采取更有根据的方法来为您的服务定价(稍后会详细介绍)。

创意企业家

适当的预算对于作为创意企业家经营艺术业务至关重要。

作为一名选择避开典型的朝九晚五的办公室工作而转而从事更具创业精神的业务的创意企业家,将每一份薪水都当作最后一次薪水来对待是明智之举。 这听起来可能很戏剧化,但是您有多少次听说过明星运动员或音乐家在眨眼之间耗尽了他们一生的收入? 我们可能不是在这里谈论数百万,但快速烧掉一大笔薪水会让你陷入同样的​​麻烦。 维持艺术事业成功的关键取决于你是否明白这个月你可能赚到 9 美元,但下个月你可能只能赚到 5 美元。 你必须相应地为你的生活做预算——对你在生活和娱乐上的花费做出一个很好的估计,并确保在你更好地掌握财务状况之前不要在任何大项目上挥霍。 此外,请考虑合并您的艺术业务是否具有财务意义。

营销

也许当今艺术家面临的最大挑战是弄清楚他们想成为什么样的人。 你想做什么? 你有利基吗? 什么卖得最好? 伊丽莎白·迪(Elizabeth Dee)纽约的一位画廊主告诉 Artrepreneur 巴塞尔迈阿密艺术博览会 2015 年,“艺术家永远不应该考虑卖什么; 那是画廊的工作。 艺术家应该专注于创作艺术。”

也就是说,完善和理解您的实践,在社交媒体平台上建立参与度,以及 知道如何推销自己 将导致一种让艺术家或创意企业家真正在他们的销售工作中退居二线的表现形式。 花时间建立在线投资组合以及使用和参与社交媒体平台是两种极具成本效益的工具,可以让营销发挥您的优势。 Wix、Weebly 和 Squarespace 等托管平台通常可以免费使用,并提供各种模板来满足您的需求。 其他平台,如 企业家, 提供各种独特的功能来展示您的作品,包括能够为不同的客户制作定制的作品集 一个干净、简单的设计,作为一个空间来存放您的最新作品,只需最少的工作量就可以轻松实现。

一旦你有了一个投资组合,你就可以使用它来全面综合你的品牌:将你的网站添加到名片和电子邮件签名中; 跨社交媒体平台链接到您的工作,并将您遇到的任何人定向到您的工作机构。 通过在社交媒体上保持活跃,您还可以巧妙地加强您的营销。 事实上,有几位画廊主指出,当他们的作品开始流行时,他们首先通过社交媒体平台找到了下一位年轻艺术家。

在社交媒体上获得并保持关注者可能是一项艰巨而耗时的任务,但这并非不可能。 从制定发布时间表开始——每天一次通常是最佳时机。 找到你的内容利基——也许你想专注于呈现最能代表你的作品的黑暗、漫无目的的图像; 或者您可能想让您的追随者看到您的日常想法和灵感。 测试其中一些帖子并确定哪些帖子往往会产生最多的“喜欢”和参与度。 始终确保与您的关注者及其评论互动,并且不要羞于查看他们自己的页面并关注他们的回复。 最后,使用主题标签为您的帖子绘制更多视图。 社交媒体的规则在不断发展,因此我们建议 查看最佳实践 在这个方便的指南中。

创意企业家,

要成为一名成功的创意企业家,您必须在艺术或设计工作室的时间与参与业务运营和行政职责之间取得平衡。

平衡

让您的作品受到关注并与潜在客户取得联系通常是艺术家们更困难的任务之一。 如果你很害羞或经常被困在工作室里,你如何找到并保留一本始终如一的艺术业务书? 忘记传统的网络模式,更加积极主动。 在社交媒体上与追随者互动,参与当地艺术组织,并对您最喜欢的艺术机构和集体进行一些研究,以确定是否可以向他们发送您的一些作品样本。 在网络或您当地的场景中搜索您最喜欢的艺术家和设计师,并与他们联系以获得指导建议。 您会惊讶地发现人们愿意为有抱负的艺术家提供建议或伸出援手!

保持艺术事业成功的常见失误之一是不愿意从事任何可能超出您通常创作领域的创造性工作。 仅仅因为您承担的项目不一定符合您作为艺术家的品牌或信息,并不意味着您必须推广它。 许多艺术家经常为他们不一定想添加到他们的投资组合中的作品收取佣金。 创意企业家明白,业务多元化是您可以用来确保财务可行性的最有影响力的工具。

这正是能够为某些客户创建自定义投资组合如此重要的原因。 考虑一下梦想成为一名优秀艺术家但在大甩卖之间从事婚礼的摄影师。 那个摄影师可能不想广播他的婚纱摄影作品集,但有一个向他的潜在客户展示肯定会派上用场。

定价

清楚地了解艺术创作的成本是一个良好的开端,以便 确定如何定价 您的服务。 如果您在材料上花费了一定数量,请确保将这些数字计入您的定价方案。 做一些研究以确定您的创意领域的每小时费率可能是多少,并确定您是该数字的新手还是经验丰富的一方。 最后,考虑该客户可能需要多少来回,并考虑提高您的费率以响应该客户的要求。

刚开始时,您会犹豫是否收取您认为服务的价值,因为您担心潜在客户可能会拒绝。 但从长远来看,不理解和承认你的价值可能会有很多缺点。

保护

您是否花时间考虑过您可能会允许他人从您的创造性工作中获利? 如果你一直在创作艺术而不花时间 注册您的作品 与版权局联系,那么您可能会面临被盗的风险。 在当今高度数字化、精通互联网的世界中,越来越多的艺术家发现自己是版权侵权的受害者。 如果您的作品已在版权局注册,那么您可以要求赔偿损失。

在版权局注册您的作品是公式化的且相当便宜; 你只需要花时间去做。 首先编译您的作品,然后决定是要为多件作品还是一件作品获得版权。 建立一个系统,让您考虑每月或每周是否有任何新的、受版权保护的作品。 如需进一步指导,可以查看 本指南.

对您、您的企业和您的资产的另一项重要保护是为您的企业建立公司结构。 无论您是个体经营者还是拥有一家小公司,您都希望保护您的个人资产免受公司的侵害。 不要被“合并”这个词吓到。 它仅表示您设置的业务结构类型。 您可以在文章中了解更多信息, 我应该为我的艺术业务开一家公司吗?

成为一名有创造力的企业家是一项勇敢的努力,也是一次激动人心的冒险。 只要确保您拥有可用于享受骑行的知识和工具。

您认为成为一名创意企业家最具挑战性的是什么? 你优先考虑什么,你还在学习什么? 请在下面的评论中告诉我们!

妮可马丁内斯
妮可马丁内斯

Nicole 是一位资深的艺术和文化记者。 她的作品出现在路透社、VICE、Hyperallergic、Univision 等杂志上。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

5 Challenges Facing the Creative Entrepreneur  |  Art Business Journal
Operations Planning

5 Challenges Facing the Creative Entrepreneur

Freelancers designers, self-employed artists, and makers with businesses (in-person or online) are becoming more empowered to be creative entrepreneurs, in charge of their own careers, maintaining their core values, and keeping more money in their own pockets. To start a creative business and build a successful one, you need to learn and use what has been called “business of art” tools to sustain it. That means creating a budget, establishing your brand, marketing your business, products, and services, protecting yourself from lawsuits, and creating your work. That’s a lot of work!

We’ve picked the five most common challenges facing the creative entrepreneur face today, and offer some advice for navigating through them.

Budgeting

The most obvious issue facing artists today is where their next paycheck will come from, and how to keep their last one from running out too quickly. Determining the cost of conducting your art business is an essential tool to ensure that you’re staying on budget and on track.

The first step to getting your budget down is to determine the actual cost of art-making. Do you keep a studio? Do you keep track of any materials you buy and consume? How often do you use them? Do you have a lot of waste? Being an artist-entrepreneur means you should know exactly how much you spend to make and manage your artwork. It’s a pivotal factor in making sure you have enough money to run your operation for months to come. Understanding these costs will also allow you to take a more educated approach to pricing your services (more on that later.)

creative entrepreneur
Proper budgeting is essential to running an art business as a creative entrepreneur.

As a creative entrepreneur that’s chosen to shun a typical 9-5 office job in favor of a more entrepreneurial type of business, you’ll be smart to treat every paycheck like it was your last. It may sound dramatic, but how many times have you heard of a star athlete or musician who blew their life’s earnings in the blink of an eye? We may not be talking millions here, but quickly burning through a big paycheck will get you in the same trouble. The key to maintaining a successful art business will rely on your ability to understand that this month you may make $6,000, but next month you may only rake in $1,000. You have to budget your life accordingly – get a good estimate on what you spend for living and entertainment, and make sure you don’t go splurging on any big items until you have a better hold on your finances. In addition, consider whether it makes financial sense to incorporate your art business.

Marketing

Perhaps the biggest challenge for an artist today is figuring out who they want to be. What do you want to make? Do you have a niche? What sells best? Elizabeth Dee, a gallerist in New York, told Artrepreneur at Art Basel Miami Beach in 2015 that “An artist should never be thinking about what sells; that’s the gallery’s job. An artist should be focused on making art.”

That said, refining and understanding your practice, building engagement on a social media platform, and knowing how to market yourself will lead to the kind of representation that lets an artist or creative entrepreneur truly take a backseat to their sales efforts. Taking the time to build an online portfolio and using and engaging with social media platforms are two extremely cost-effective tools for using marketing to your advantage. Hosting platforms like Wix, Weebly and Squarespace are often free to use and offer a variety of templates to meet your needs. Other platforms, like Artrepreneur, offer a variety of unique functionalities to showcase your work, including the ability to make customized portfolios for different clients A clean, simple design that serves as a space to host your latest work will be easy to achieve for a minimal amount of work.

Once you have a portfolio in place, you can use it synthesize your brand across the board: add your website to business cards and email signatures; link to your work across your social media platforms, and direct anyone you meet to your body of work. By staying active on social media, you can also deftly enhance your marketing. In fact, several gallerists have pointed out that they first found their next young artist through their social media platform, when they’re work started trending.

Gaining and keeping followers on social media can be an arduous, time-consuming task, but it’s not impossible. Start by developing a schedule for posting – once a day is usually the sweet spot. Find your content niche – perhaps you want to focus on presenting dark, aimless images that best represent your work; or maybe you want to allow your followers to see your daily thoughts and inspirations. Test a few of these posts out and determine which ones tend to yield the most ‘likes’ and engagement. Always be sure to interact with your followers and their comments, and don’t be shy about taking a look at their own pages and following them in reply. Finally, use hashtags to draw even more views to your posts. The rules for social media are constantly evolving, so we recommend checking out best practices in this handy guide.

creative entrepreneur,
To be a successful creative entrepreneur, you have to balance time in the art or design studio with attending to business operations and administrative duties.

Balancing

Getting your work noticed and getting in touch with potential clients can often be one of the more difficult tasks for artists. How do you find and keep a book of consistent art business if you’re shy or constantly stuck in the studio? Forget the traditional modes of networking and be more proactive. Engage with followers on social media, participate in local arts organizations, and do some research on your favorite arts institutions and collectives to determine whether it’s possible to send them some samples of your work. Scour the web or your local scene for your favorite artists and designers and reach out to them for mentorship advice. You’d be surprised how willing people are to offer advice or lend a hand to an aspiring artist!

One of the common missteps in maintaining a successful art business is an unwillingness to take any creative jobs that might fall outside your usual creative realm. Just because you take on a project that doesn’t necessarily align with your brand or message as an artist doesn’t mean that you have to promote it. Many artists often take commissions for works they may not necessarily want to add to their portfolio. The creative entrepreneur understands that diversifying a business is the single most impactful tool you can use to ensure your financial viability.

This is exactly why it’s so important to be able to create custom portfolios for certain clients. Consider the photographer who dreams of being a fine artist but works weddings in between big sales. That photographer may not wish to broadcast his wedding photography portfolio, but it sure comes in handy to have one to show his prospective clients.

Pricing

Having a clear idea of how much it costs you to make art is a good first start in order to determine how to price your services. If you spend a certain amount on materials, then make sure you factor those figures into your pricing scheme. Do some research to determine what an hourly rate might be in your creative field, and determine whether you are on the novice or experienced side of that figure. Finally, consider how much back and forth this client may require, and consider upping your rate in order to respond to that client’s demands.

When you’re first starting out, you’re hesitant to charge what you think your services are worth because you’re concerned that a potential client might say no. But not understanding and recognizing your worth can have a lot of drawbacks in the long run.

Protecting

Have you taken the time to consider that you may be allowing others to profit from your creative work? If you’re consistently creating art and not taking the time to register your works with the Copyright Office, then you might be exposing yourself to theft. In today’s highly digital, internet savvy world, more and more artists are finding themselves the victims of copyright infringement. If your artwork is registered with the Copyright Office, then you can recover for your damages.

Registering your work with the Copyright Office is formulaic and fairly inexpensive; you just have to take the time to do it. Start by compiling your work and deciding whether you want to copyright multiple pieces or one single work. Set up a system that asks you to consider whether you have any new, copyrightable works on a monthly or weekly basis. For further guidance, can check out this guide.

Another important protection for you, your business and your assets is forming a corporate structure for your business. Whether you are self-employed or own a small company, you want to protect your personal assets from the company’s. Don’t be scared by the word “incorporate”. It just means the type of business structure you set up. You can learn more about in the article, Should I Open a Corporation for My Art Business?

Being a creative entrepreneur is a brave endeavor and an exciting adventure. Just make sure you have the knowledge and tools available to enjoy the ride.

What do you find most challenging about being a creative entrepreneur? What do you prioritize and what are you still learning? Let us know in the comments below!

About the author

Nicole Martinez

Nicole is a veteran arts and culture journalist. Her work has appeared in Reuters, VICE, Hyperallergic, Univision, and more.

4 Comments

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Creating a solid brand and a business plan is absolutely critical, I know…but there seems to be so little information available on how to create a plan for transitioning from a 9 – 5 job to actually implementing that business plan on a full-time basis. For example, I’d want to set goals based on a projected income from sales in each platform….I’m sure it varies widely per artist and medium, but there have to be some hard figures out there somewhere that could be used to set some guidelines. How much could you expect to make with gallery representation, selling through an art dealer, etc.? How could you expect revenue streams to be distributed across platforms….for example 20% from dealer sales, 30% from gallery sales, 40% from freelance work, 10% from grants, etc (I have no idea). I’m just starting on this transition myself, but I’ve watched so many artists get stuck in the transition because there is so little information one can use to create a realistic plan. Does that information exist?

From the Artrepreneur Marketplace

Support an Artist

Artrepreneur Creative Careers Podcast

Listen to industry innovators share their experiences, insights and give advice to help you navigate your creative career.

Podcast Podcast Podcast

@artrepreneur_og