fbpx

不幸的是,太多的艺术家和创意人员往往不像那些这样做的人那样要求、创建或审查合同。 无论是艺术展览、收费服务、佣金、画廊还是销售,合同都规定了买卖双方之间的交易规则,以便双方了解预期以及不满足这些预期的后果。

让我们澄清一件事:口头协议会导致合同不佳。 违反合约 只有当双方对合同条款有不同的解释时才会发生诉讼。 口头协议很容易被误解,因为合同写得很差,部分原因是因为有太多的歧义和未定义的条款。 但是,如果您了解艺术家合同中应包含的内容的基础知识,则不必如此。

对艺术家合同抱有偏执是很好的

进入艺人时 合同, 问你自己; 如果项目失败了怎么办? 如果场地不可用怎么办? 是什么意思? 双方对您的赔偿计划的条款有相同的理解吗? 合同对双方公平还是对保护客户很重要? 扮演魔鬼的拥护者,找出合同中可能留下的漏洞,一方可以跳过这些漏洞以逃避其义务。 确保所有基本要素都清楚,以便您的客户确切地知道对您和他们的期望。 如果他们要求您多花些时间或想扩大项目的规模,您可以轻松地指出您的合同,向他们展示您的工作限制。 

违反艺术家合同的唯一方式是您不履行所列义务。合同条款越精确,出现分歧的可能性就越小。 在大多数情况下,您的服务会因客户而异,因此您的合同也会相似。 我们强烈建议与律师交谈,以制定可针对特定工作量身定制的条款的核心合同。 虽然开发合同模板可能要花费数百美元或更多,但假设您的服务对于每个客户都是相似的,您可能只需要做一次。 这样你就可以确保它尽可能紧。 可以将其视为针对轻率诉讼的保险。

雇用合同工作

您可能会受雇于拥有自己标准合同的个人或公司。 不幸的是,非律师可能很难全面评估他们的合同条款。 根据工作的价值,您可能会考虑从律师那里获得合同审查。 

艺术合同

在您同意任何事情之前,请提出问题以澄清您对艺术家合同条款的解释是准确的。

如果您认为修改合同符合您的最佳利益,请在“审查”模式下标记合同并建议替代条款或使用您认为合适的条款调整条款。 如果您的担忧是有效的,客户可能会乐于助人。 如果他们不乐于助人,问问自己,这仍然是您想与之开展业务的客户吗?

如果合同审查不可行,您应该仔细阅读整个合同,并要求对与您有关的每个条款进行解释。 向客户发送一封电子邮件,说明您对这些条款的理解,因此至少有一份书面记录,您认为一切都已提供给另一方,如果您以后需要参考它。  

你应该注意的一件事是 租用作品 条款。 受雇执行创意服务的独立承包商(即自由平面设计师/公司)通常会保留作品的版权。 客户仅获得将作品用于特定目的的许可。 超出该目的的使用需要额外的许可费用。 例如,如果您创建用于广告活动的图形设计,公司通常有权继续使用该图像进行营销工作。 但是,他们不能将该图形出售给另一家公司。 购买该设计的公司的任何使用都需要额外的许可。 

但是,在“出租作品”协议中,客户获得作品的版权,因此拥有全部所有权。  

A 受雇工作 在以下情况下存在协议:

  1. 双方签署书面协议;
  2. 说明该作品是“供租用的作品”

没有这种特定的语言,它就不是一个为雇佣而制作的协议,无论客户怎么想,您都将保留您的版权。 您可能需要在您的或任何合同中添加一行明确说明“本协议不是为雇佣而制作的作品”,以便您知道您和客户同意这一事实。

什么是违约?

对于 合同 为了在必须采取违约行为时有效并占上风,必须证明以下要素(每个州可能略有不同):

  1. 要约、接受和相互同意: 每份合同都必须包括一方的特定要约,另一方接受要约的条款。 双方必须自愿同意条款。 如果一方强迫或胁迫另一方同意,则合同可能无效。
  2. 考虑:必须在双方之间交换有价值的东西,例如金钱或服务。 如果双方不交换有价物品,则视为礼物,而不是合同。
  3. 心理能力: 双方必须“头脑清醒”。 精神病或醉酒的当事人将使合同无效。 与未成年人签订的合同无法执行,但就合同而言,未成年人的构成可能因州而异。
  4. 法律目的: 合同必须是出于合法目的。 销售毒品、实施抢劫或其他非法行为的合同不可强制执行。
  5. 被告缺乏履行: 原告必须证明被告没有履行合同条款。 在创建合同时,确保条款是具体的并且双方都理解。 如果条款含糊不清或模棱两可,则合同将难以执行。违反合约
  6. 原告的表现: 原告还必须证明他们已经履行了这些条款,或者如果不是因为被告缺乏履行,他们将履行这些条款。
  7. 及时通知违规情况: 原告必须已将违约通知被告,包括在启动违约诉讼之前被告可以满足条款的规定时间。 通知应以书面形式发送,并使用回执或其他证明通知已送达的证据发送口头通知是可以接受的,但更难证明。

为了让被告胜诉,他们需要找到一种方法来质疑原告关于这些要素的论点。 因此,如果被告能够证明合同是不确定的、含糊的或发现缺少其他一些要素,他们就可以获胜。

我应该雇用律师审查我的艺术家合同吗?

在可能的情况下,始终让律师审查另一方撰写的合同,因为该合同很可能是为了有利于客户,而不是为了您。 你也可以找到当地的 艺术志愿律师 您所在城市或州的章节。 全国各地的 VLA 提供法律研讨会、无偿咨询和减免费用。 通过练习并实际阅读您正在签署的内容,您将准备好知道什么 未来的合同应该包括保护您、您的企业和您的工作。  

如果您合并您的创意业务,则可以获得额外的保护。 您可以通过阅读了解更多信息 我应该为我的艺术业务开一家公司吗? 渴望了解更多法律知识? 了解有关艺术家合同、版权和艺术法的所有信息,请访问 艺术法杂志.

你对艺人合同有什么了解? 你使用它们吗? 有哪些优势? 在评论中告诉我们!

史蒂夫·施拉克曼
史蒂夫·施拉克曼

作为具有市场营销背景的摄影师和专利代理人,史蒂夫对艺术、法律和商业有着独特的见解。 他目前担任 Artrepreneur 的首席产品官。 您可以在 artrepreneur.com 或通过纽约市的 Fremin 画廊找到他的摄影作品。

联系我们

地址: 拨款计划 1145 17th Street NW
电话: 888-557-4450
电邮: [电子邮件保护]
客户支持: 恩戈主题

订阅博客

注册我们的时事通讯以接收更新。

artist contract
Operations Legal Matters

What You Need to Know About Artist Contracts

Unfortunately, far too many artists and creatives tend not to ask for, create, or review contracts than those who do. Whether for an art exhibition, fee-for-service, commission, gallery, or sale, contracts lay out the rules of the transaction between a buyer and seller so both parties know what is expected and what the consequences are for not meeting those expectations.

Let’s make one thing clear: VERBAL AGREEMENTS MAKE POOR CONTRACTS. Breach of contract lawsuits only occur when both parties have different interpretations of the contract’s terms. Verbal agreements are prone to misunderstanding as are poorly written contract, partly, because there is too much ambiguity and undefined terms. But there doesn’t have to be if you learn the basics of what should be in an artist contract.

It’s Good to Be Paranoid with Artist Contracts

When entering into an artist contract, ask yourself; What if the project falls through? What if the venue becomes unavailable? What does work for hire mean? Do both parties have the same understanding of the terms of your compensation schedule? Is the contract fair to both parties or is it heavily weighted to protect the client? Play devil’s advocate to identify holes that may be left in the contracts that a party can jump through to escape their obligations. Make sure that all the essential elements are clear, so your client knows exactly what is expected of you and of them. If they ask for more of your time or want to scale up the project, you can easily point to your contract to show them the limits of your work. 

The only way that an artist contract can be breached is if you don’t fulfill the obligations as listed.The more precise you can make your contract terms, the less likely there will be any disagreement. In most cases, your service is going to be similar from client to client, so your contract will also be similar. We strongly suggest talking with an attorney to develop a core contract with terms that can be tailored to specific jobs. While it may cost several hundred dollars or more to develop your contract template, you will probably only have to do it once, assuming that your service is similar for each client. That way you can be sure it is as tight as possible. Think of it as insurance against a frivolous lawsuit.

Work Made for Hire Contracts

You may be hired by an individual or company who have their own standard contracts.  Unfortunately, it may be difficult for a non-lawyer to fully evaluate their contract terms. Depending upon the value of the job, you might consider getting a contract review from an attorney. 

art contract
Before you agree to anything, ask questions to clarify that your interpretation of a an artist contract term of clause is accurate.

If you feel it’s in your best interest to modify the contract, mark up the contract in “review” mode and suggest alternative terms or adjust clauses with ones that you are comfortable with. Clients can be accommodating if your concern is valid.  If they’re not accommodating, ask yourself, is this still a client you want to do business with?

If a contract review is not feasible, you should read the contract carefully in its entirety and ask for an explanation of each term that concerns you. Send the client an email laying out your understanding of those terms, so at least there is a written record of exactly what you think everything means that has been given to the other party, should you need to refer to it later on.  

One thing you should watch out for is Work Made for Hire clauses. An Independent Contractor (i.e. a freelance graphic designer / company) hired to do perform a creative service will usually retain the copyright of the work. The client receives only a license to use the work for a particular purpose. Uses outside of that purpose should require additional licensing fees. For example, if you create a graphic design that is used in an advertising campaign, the company generally has the right to continue to use that image for their marketing efforts. However, they cannot sell that graphic to another company.  Any use by the company that purchased the design would require an additional license. 

However, in a Work Made for Hire agreement, the client receives the copyright in the work, and therefore, full ownership.  

A work for hire agreement exists when:

  1. A written agreement is signed by both parties;
  2. Stating that the work is a “work made for hire”

Without that specific language, it is not a Work Made for Hire agreement and you will retain your copyright, despite what the client thinks.  You may want to add a line to your or any contract that states specifically, “This agreement is not a Work Made for Hire” so you know that you and the client agree on this fact.

What is Breach of Contract?

For a contract to be valid and to prevail in the event a breach of contract action is necessary, the following elements must be proven (these may be slightly different in each state):

  1. Offer, acceptance, and mutual agreement: Every contract must include a specific offer by one party with the other side accepting the terms of the offer. Both parties must agree on the terms of their own free will. If one party forces or coerces the other into agreeing, then the contract can be invalidated.
  2. Consideration: Something of value must be exchanged between the parties, such as money or services. If both parties don’t exchange something of value, it is a considered a gift, not a contract.
  3. Mental competence: Both parties must be of “sound mind.” Mentally ill or intoxicated parties will invalidate the contract. Contracts with minors cannot be enforced, although what constitutes a minor for contract purposes may vary by state.
  4. Legal purpose: The contract must be for a legal purpose. A contract to sell drugs, commit a robbery or another illegal act is not enforceable.
  5. Lack of performance by the defendant: The plaintiff must show that the defendant did not fulfill the terms of the contract. When creating the contract, make sure the terms are specific and understood by both parties. If the terms are vague or ambiguous, then the contract will be difficult to enforce.Breach of contract
  6. Performance by the Plaintiff: The plaintiff must also show that they have fulfilled the terms or would have fulfilled those terms if not for the defendant’s lack of performance.
  7. Timely notification of a breach: The plaintiff must have notified the defendant of the breach including a defined time with which the defendant can satisfy the terms before a breach of contract action will be initiated. The notification should be in writing and sent using return receipt or some other proof that the notification was delivered verbal notification is acceptable but harder to prove.

For the defendant to prevail, they would need to find a way to cast doubt on the plaintiffs argument as to these elements. So, if the defendants can show the contract was indefinite, vague or find some other element lacking, they can win.

Should I Hire a Lawyer to Review My Artist Contract?

When possible, always have a lawyer review a contract written by the other party, since the contract will likely have been written to favor the client, not you.  You can also find the local Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts chapter in your city or state. VLA’s across the country offer legal workshops, pro-bono consultations, and reduced fees. With practice and actually reading what you’re signing, you’ll be prepared to know what future contracts should entail to protect you, your business, and your work.  

Additional protections are available if you incorporate your creative business. You can learn more about by reading Should I Open a Corporation for My Art Business?  Hungry for more legal knowledge? Learn all about artist contracts, copyright and art law at Art Law Journal.

What have you learned about artist contracts? Do you use them? What have been the advantages? Tell us in the comments!

About the author

Steve Schlackman

As a photographer and Patent Attorney with a background in marketing, Steve has a unique perspective on art, law and business. He is currently serving as the VP of Product Innovation at Orangenius, where he hopes that his many interactions with the various members of the Orangenius community will provide lots of important material for Artrepreneur. You can find his photogrphy at Orangenius.com or through Emmanuel Fremin Gallery in NYC.

2 Comments

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Very fruitful and well taken advice to artists. The section on taking particular care with respect to waiving rights is particularly valuable.

  • Everyone has questions about the ins and outs of starting a business. I found the book Artrepreneur: Making Your Dream A Business answers all of those questions and more. It’s definitely a reference tool to carry in your laptop bag and to have on your bookshelf. This book speaks directly to the artrepreneur in all of us. Definitely worth it.

From the Artrepreneur Marketplace

Support an Artist

Artrepreneur Creative Careers Podcast

Listen to industry innovators share their experiences, insights and give advice to help you navigate your creative career.

Podcast Podcast Podcast

@artrepreneur_og